Ol' Blues Joe - A Father's Day poem

in #life7 years ago (edited)


Even before we can walk or talk, girls have their Daddy "eating out of their hand" ;)

He's a wrinkled old man with no hair on his head
Walking around like he's back from the dead
He eats his dinner from an old trash can
Washes his face in a frying pan

He's paying his dues
He's got nothing to lose
So he keeps on wailing
The Harmonica Blues

His face is hard
His eyesight worn
His heart and mind, tattered and torn.
But when he makes that blues harp moan
Those dues he's paying make his old heart groan.

The day Ol' Blues Joe left this earth,
I came upon his harp... In the dirt
I picked it up and tried to play
Those simple Blues Diddies that he used to play...

Before I knew it ... The Blues had caught me
And I started to remember all he taught me..

He said ,"daughter, the Blues makes the sad happy... If you don't believe it,
Just remember your Pappy"

My son (7 at the time), tried to write Gramps a blues song to make him laugh (I know... Blues song to make Gramps laugh... Do kids understand irony?🤔). In honor of Father's Day and the man that taught me that being ME is the most beautiful thing I could accomplish in life...
Thank you, Pop.

Sort:  

Thanks @symbiotic

You have been PROMOTED FREE for using the "newcomers" TAG (hashtag)

https://steemit.com/promoted/newcomers

Resteem...

Thank you so much, @cassidyandfranks... For the Resteem and reading 😊

My pleasure @symbiotic

Keep STEEM N ON,
Frank

Thank you, @goodaytrader. No one else had one like mine😊.

unfortunately mine is not responsible

In retrospect, would you say it has made/would make you a better father because of his lack?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65124.62
ETH 3554.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46