Travel with me #30: My Trip to Xiamen and the food extravaganza

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemit Friends:



Imgur
I'd like to share with everyone my recent trip to Xiamen, China. Xiamen quite similar to Shenzhen in that it is an open economic system with it's own special administration. Its located on the South East coast and is an important tourist city as well as harbour of trade. Just like Shenzhen and Hong-Kong are separated by a sea channel, so are Xiamen and Taiwan. As I fly from the North to South of China, I can peer at the window and see the weather progressively get better and better. Clouds become whiter and fluffier, very beautiful!

This is a photo I took of the view from my window seat. You can see a cloud looking like a long bridge, joining up with a mass of clouds in the distance. It reminds me a lot of Steemit, a bridge connecting people from all over the world. This cloud bridge leads me to the world on the other side, and opens the door to the rest of the world. Steemit has made it possible for each and everyone of us to ride this bridge and share our stories and cultures with the rest of the world.
Imgur


The Xiamen harbor has many containers big and small ready to be shipped all over the world.


Imgur

This is the plane as it begins landing. As it does so, it flies across very dense buildings, so close that I started getting worried we might hit some.



From below zero degrees in the North, to above 20 degrees in the South, the first thing I did when we landed was get changed from my thick coats and jumpers to my summer clothes.


Imgur

I came to Xiamen to visit a friend, so I chose to stay at a hotel close to where she lives. The hotel I stayed at was very new, it only opened this year so most of the taxi drivers don't even know the exact location of it. After some time looking around, I finally found it. From the bottom, it's hard to take a good picture of it, but it's got 23 floors and looks quite modern.


Imgur


Xiamen's Wyndham Hotel is located in the Southwest of Xiamen, a fair distance away from the city center of Xiamen. It's nearer to the seaside and because of it's reclusive location, it's very quiet. As you can see, I walked into the hotel foyer and found the place to be very spacious and I loved the sparkling lights everywhere.


Imgur

The Hotels Lounge


Imgur

One side of the hotel is joined to a Wedding Dress Store


Imgur
Imgur
Imgur

The Crystal Chandeliers are very bright and shiny.


Imgur
Imgur


The Elevator design is very unique, I really like the mural paintings lit with some ambient lighting.


Imgur

The view from my hotel window is superb. The hotel is located in the commercial district of Xiamen, and it is home to Asia's largest international fragrance hill yacht dock. It also has a beautiful stretch of coastal road often used for marathon races. As with most commercial districts, there are no shortages of high rise buildings and skyscrapers. A very beautiful skyline.


Imgur
Imgur

As I arrived early, I decided to check out the hotel restaurant for some snacks.


Imgur

I saw the Stone-bowl Won-ton Noodles and immediately stopped walking.


Imgur
Imgur
Imgur

There's also a variety of other dishes such as Steamed vegetables, stir fry's, steamed fish, radish with stewed meat. With so many choices, I couldn't choose between them and just stood their drooling..


Imgur
Imgur
Imgur

Some cold dishes.


Imgur
Imgur

Various kinds of Eggs. 。


Imgur
Imgur

Of course no food experience is ever complete without dessert.


Imgur
Imgur
Imgur
Imgur
Imgur
Imgur
Imgur

Thanks for joining me on my trip to Xiamen and a tour around the Wyndham Hotel and it's restaurant. What is the first thing you usually do when you get off the plane?


今天我想请大家和我一起来到厦门旅游,厦门和深圳一样,也是对外开放的经济特区,是东南沿海重要的旅游城市和港口。就像深圳和香港隔海相望一样,厦门与台湾也是隔海相望。我坐在飞机上,从北方飞向南方城市,天气越来越好,让云朵也变得更漂亮一些。这是我抓拍下的场景,这一条长长的朵云就像一座桥,连接了我和对面的云朵群,它让我想起了Steemit,它就像一座桥梁连接了世界各地的人,这座桥把我带到了对面的云朵,帮我打开了通向世界的门。Steemit让我们每个人都有机会在Steemit这座桥上分享我们家乡的故事和文化,Steemit这座桥联通了整个世界。厦门港口整齐的摆放着大大小小的集装箱。这是飞机快要降落的时候,飞机离密密麻麻的楼房越来越近,让我不由得有些担心。厦门温德姆酒店位于厦门的西南边,远离市中心,临近海边,非常安静。走进酒店的大厅,非常宽敞,灯光亮晶晶的。从房间的窗户望去,风景一览无余。因为酒店所在的位置属于厦门的高端商务区,周边有亚洲最大的香山国际游艇码头,还有最美的环岛路马拉松赛道,当然少不了高楼大厦,视野好极了。因为到的时间比较早,所以决定来到酒店的餐厅逛一逛,吃点小吃。谢谢你们的观看,希望你们喜欢我的文章,通常在你们下了飞机,到了全新的酒店之后,你们第一件事会去干嘛呢?

Sort:  

Your blog is easily one of my favorites. Love the pictures and the different perspectives about culture, life, and places abroad.

Thanks Jenkinrocket, I'll keep doing what I do!

to be precise, the part of Taiwan that is close to Xiamen is actually a much smaller (than Taiwan main island) island(s) named Kinmen. Kinmen used to be a military island with little development and is now a hot tourist spot for mainlanders. Still, Xiamen is more than 10 times more modern than its neighboring Kinmen.
Here is a photo looking at Xiamen from Kinmen side

New hotel is always nice.

I really like the fresh smell of "new".

fina bilder och trevli resan

Nice trip to Xiamen @sweetsssj!! Been to Xiamen once many many years back it was a very nice city.. glad to see your post.. brings back memories :)

Thanks! Everything changes so quickly in China, I would imagine that Xiamen is very different now to what it was when you went.

進房間之後,全身飛撲跳床。此乃第一要務。:) Wyndham hotel看起來很不錯,還沒有住過。

哈哈 你的回答好有趣,进门之后瘫倒在床是最放松的时刻:)

Intresting post and nice photos @sweetsssj!

As always, super awesome photos. I always feel that I have been traveling when I read your post, you take me there.

Thanks so much @gringalicious , I enjoy your posts and photography very mcuh ^^

Desserts looks very tasty :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63455.85
ETH 2722.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58