Steemit Payout - Steemit Making the World a Better Place

in #life7 years ago

It's funny how things work out...

A couple of weeks ago I was heading to a court hearing for the kids from Springfield to Union, Missouri. My Suburban started making noise while driving down I-44 near Sullivan. I pulled over and tried to pinpoint where it was coming from.

Now, I'm no mechanic but I've changed tires, done regular oil changes, spark plugs, fixed rusted radiator lines, breaks, hubs, tie rods, gaskets..the list goes on. In this particular case it was a bit difficult to pin-point where the noise stemmed from, being alone. It almost sounded like a nail in a tire...except there was a noticeable vibration every time the noise hit, still, I checked all of the tires...No noticeable issues. There was nothing else I could do...I was on a deadline so ONWARD.

On the way back I stopped for gas at the same gas station I've been to 50+ times, only this time there was axle fluid pouring out of the rear driver side tire. With further inspection I noticed fluid coming from the rear axle cover. The noise also seemed to be changing, compared to the noise I heard earlier, the sound was ever so slightly fewer and farther in between in forward motion. I decided to take the risk of driving the last 90 miles to home. Kids have to get home from school somehow... By the time I got it home the vibration was substantially fewer and far in between in comparison (Not a good thing).

I was Lucky


My friend took a picture...there's also a video of how loose the axle shaft was but I haven't quite figured out how to get it on here just yet.

Axle costs ranged from $150-325 at junkyards, not including the cost for pulling the part or labor. Fortunately, I have a friend who knew someone who had an axle from a Yukon that had a front-end fire. They wanted $150, pulled and ready. My friend also offered to work on it. This is a 55 year old man who restores classic cars for a living...I had no doubts to his level of competence when it comes to vehicle work and I knew he could use the $$.

Begin rant......

Often in life, it seems like only the people who "play dirty" tend to get ahead...and that may very well be what the "norm" is coming to more and more but it wasn't in this case.

....End Rant

A Refreshed Hope for Humanity

I feel very blessed. I made it home safely, had a friend go out of their way to find the part and offer to fix it. I did have to argue with my friend who refused to take money for his time and labor... who is simply a decent human being who would give the shirt off of his back. However, he finally accepted and we were both humbled while trying to hold back tears.

SteemitPayout.jpg

I also let him know how I earned this money by writing on Steemit. My payout was $270 and that's what I paid for the labor side of this repair.

I was able to make the world a better place by reciprocating kindness and generosity through your kindness and generosity. Thank You!

Intro SweetSarcasm

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59241.40
ETH 2525.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47