Teaching The Gift Of Giving To Children

in #life7 years ago

Today my baby becomes a big boy, it’s his last day in Baby Care, from tomorrow he heads off to play with the “bigger” kids at playgroup. It’s one of those bittersweet moments where I’m not sure whether I should be excited for this next phase we are entering or heart-sore at the fact that my child is growing faster than I might like. 

To celebrate the days and to give thanks to those who have poured love and care into his little soul, I wanted to give them a little gift of thanks. My child is a very spirited little being, he is stubborn and strong-willed – he gives those responsible for him a very hard time, that’s for sure! But throughout each outburst, tantrum and act of defiance, the teachers who took him under their wing were patient, loving and were ALWAYS on his side – something a parent appreciates. 

My toddler goes to a school where the do things quite differently. My sister calls it as “School for hippies”. One of the rules and that only handmade gifts are allowed to be given. This is a rule that I have come to really appreciate, since it has sparked a creative side in me and my child – not to mention it is a more affordable gifting solution (this is probably my favorite reason)! 

I took the opportunity this time round to try and teach my two-year-old the gift of giving. I made a big deal of explaining to him that GIVING is fun, it makes someone happy and it’s done with love (not to prove that we love someone, but because we love someone). His little mind couldn’t fathom all of this of course, but the excitement in my voice got him to react. 

Off we went off to the shop to by the supplies. My little one loves to potter around and dig in the garden with me, so we chose a craft that would incorporate gardening as well as a bit of artwork. We bought clay pots, soil, seedlings, paint and twine. It took us a week to complete the gifts, since we did it all in phases. We painted the pots in beautiful colors the first day, the next day we found stones to fill the bottom. Over the remaining days we planted the seedlings, watered them and decorated the pots with some twine and a sign made from my son’s hand-print that says “Thank you for helping me grow”. 

I think we did good! My son really enjoyed the task when he gave the gifts to his teachers this morning he carried them and handed them over with pride! Our kids are never too little to learn the importance of giving and saying thanks – it’s a beautiful characteristic to help develop – especially when the gift is handmade, sentimental and truly comes from the heart.  

Much love - @sweeptea

#africa

(bringing you original content)

Please upvote and resteem - thank you!

Sort:  

Simply awesome. Can you believe my eldest is out of school. It's so scary!

It is! They grow way, way too fast! At least you still have the boys to keep you going!

At least :)

What a great idea! And so fun he had a "hand" in it as well :-). My little guy will transition from the two to three year old room in October. He will be so sad to leave his two teachers as they have nurtured him through some tough times. I may need to copy this idea...I love it so much!

Awe it really is so bittersweet how they grow! I hope your son settles into his new environment easily - enjoy all the new milestones! Remember to share your gifts with us here on Steemit! Much love, @sweetpea

I will! I took a brief break after the judge made our big decision. I need to get back steeling once more! I think he's going to struggle with this transition a bit...but so far every teacher I've worked with at the school is great, so I'm sure they will help him through it! Thanks goodness for Pinterest for gift ideas! They'd get gift cards if not for that. :-)

I am Groot! :D

Thanks for sharing, a very inspiring post and a good gift idea to borrow! :)

Were you pleasantly surprised that your post earned a few extra steem?

This post was chosen by the @steemiteducation team as a high quality education related posts. Keep up the great work! If you want to make sure the team sees your future educational posts, please make sure to include the #steemiteducation tag.

Also please consider searching the #steemiteducation tag yourself and support other quality education related posts with your vote.

Steem on!!!!

Thank you! I AM pleasantly surprised! I will continue to show my support too! Much love, @sweetpea

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51