Has A Booked Ever Haunted You? - The Storyteller, By Jodi Piccoult

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Have you ever read a novel that haunts you, even years after you have read it? There is one book that I think of almost daily, I still don't know what too quite make of the story and it's themes, but it has created vivid images in my mind that I just can't shake, and in fact, I don't want to shake them...I've come to need them!

The Book: The Storyteller by Jodi Piccoult

From page one I was hooked. I was staying with my mom at the time and didn't have much to do, so I was desperate for a good distraction. My mom recommended the book to me, said I would enjoy it, she was right! I did however have to put the book down for a day or two, there's a part in the book that really got to me, mentally and emotionally, I will share the page below and you can see for yourself - it's not something that I absorbed easily, not for me anyway.

This page goes into explain how the Nazis treated the Jews - bone chilling:

The novel is one of those that's kind of a story that's in a story that's in a story. There are twists and pieces of a puzzle that slowly come together. It revolves around two main characters, Josef and Sage. Sage is a non-practicing Jew and Josef is a reformed Nazi. Their pasts are what bring them together in a journey of self-forgiveness and discovery.

The book is written excellently! I cried through most of the pages and the historical pieces, which are based on real events, shocked me and honestly gave me a new perspective on life, love and humanity.

I'll end of from a quote from Anne Frank that is mentioned in the book (it has become my favorite quote):

With much love from - @sweetpea


Sort:  

Pet Cemetery by Stephen King, I was scared to go to my apartment because the book was there. Crazy!

That's one of my mom's haunting books too! I MIGHT give it a read! Not sure if I am brave enough!

Thanks for the support, Upvoted!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64356.37
ETH 3512.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54