Harlan Ellison. 1934-2018. RIP. By @sweetjoy

in #life6 years ago

Steemer's, I wanted to share a post about Harlan Ellison.

His recent passing was a surprise to many writers worldwide.

He has inspired many writers, including our dearest friend @mctiller of Steemit.

@mctiller has a weekly twentyfourhourshortstory writing contest that I participate in.

It's so fun.

He was inpsired to do this contest by Harlan Ellison.
The contest has grown.

After Harlan's recent passing, @mctiller asked his followers to write a post about him.

So I did. Turned out to be an honor.

All this time I thought @mctiller was the man in his channel thumbnail picture.
untitled_7.jpg
To my surprise it is Harlan Ellison.

 Harland is known for his dynamic short stories written in his breakfast nook.

Upon research about him, I came across a passage from his story about an old man and a pocket watch.

Excerpt from story...

Gaspar' means master of the treasure, keeper of the secrets, paladin of the palace." Billy was staring at him, not walking into the bedroom; just staring at him. As the elegant timepiece floated to the old man, who extended his hand palm-up to receive it. The watch nestled in his hand, unmoving, and it made no sound, no sound at all.

harlan_ellison.jpg
More of his writings and art can be found on Art Deco Pavillion online.

He also has spoken on 2CD's on Deep Shag Records label.

He has online collectable comic books for sale, including Marvel Heroes.

I am so sorry I missed the opportunity to discuss books online with him.

Even so I enjoyed all of the stories I have read so far.

I will read all of his work. I like his writing style.

His stories are wise, funny and full of action.

As a writer, I can see why many were inspired by him.
HEnotinleisuresuit.jpg
Rest in Peace.
IMG_20180619_085301.jpg
Until next time.
Written by @sweetjoy
Pics from online use Art Deco Pavillion for education

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58786.64
ETH 2309.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49