You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🐺 The effect of social media on society - an opinion piece

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Well have you ever been added on facebook by people you have no idea who they are, and you do not have any mutual friends?! I always wondered how the hell did you find me?!

Most of the superstars- sportsman for example - use it as a way to break some solitude and also express themselves, after all they train the whole day in the quarantine and everything. Likes are fuel for them - I might be wrong. On the other hand self promotion is very popular nowadays, without any intention to get into a friendship.

Regarding split personality, I see this so often, even not related to the social media, it's like when you have a person who have 3 characters when he/she is authority; is under authority by someone, and equalized with the people. I guess that can be related to split personality for social media > everyone wants to be the biggest authority, trend setter, influencer or whatever they are called nowadays.

I find Facebook very useful for getting some information about underground gigs, cinema projection, cultural happening in the city; Also getting in touch with so many real friends in different countries, but with WhatsApp and Viber this is not the real reason anymore actually. :)

I think this is enough from me :) as I start writing everything goes boom :)

Sort:  

Hey man thanks for your input!

I have indeed, I always assume they either saw your reply on a post somewhere an decided to add you or are driven by a bot that somehow searches for random names.

About the superstars and sportsmen I don't know, they have plenty of events I wouldn't be surprised if they'd prefer their real family and friends to help them trough those times. I think for them followers and likes are more a popularity contest resulting in more revenue (also would not be surprised if most of their social media platform have a guy behind it that does it for them)

Self promotion without wanting friendship is exactly one of the points I was trying to make and I think it plays very well with the next point you make about split personality. It might indeed already have existed before and that now with social media it is just voiced out more and more apparent and easier to do.

Social media has its benefits indeed, it is a great source for some forms of information. Also yes it is still valuable in staying in contact with friends and family all over the world even with whatsapp and viber etc. Now I can simply post a picture of the holiday I want to share with them in one place instead of having to whatsapp it to each and all. Or if I quickly want to inform the whole lot about something (just examples).
If i want to go into more details with them I would indeed use whatsapp

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67873.49
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80