What makes me happy today.....

in #life7 years ago

THIS is what makes me happy today...
IMG_0500.JPG

It's the simple things... Remembering our trip to Key West in 2015... my children and husband were enjoying the waves of the Atlantic in a snorkeling trip for the morning and I wanted to just be by myself. All I wanted was a cup of delicious cuban coffee at the Cuban Coffee Queen with maybe a ham and cheese sandwich.

I walked about 35 minutes in 84 degree weather, dripping sweat and a little hypoglycemic at this point, but I finally found the Cuban Coffee Queen beckoning me in.

I love this picture because it is so bright in the morning light and I just like the logo... Notice the dripping mason jar of cool ice water... I needed something cool to cool my perimenopausal body down before I drank my hot cuban coffee. The sandwich was amazing.. crisp bread, salty ham and oozy cheese. There was a fan in the background blowing semi-cool wind.. but I didn't care. I WAS ALONE IN KEY WEST AT CUBAN COFFEE QUEEN... heaven.

This memory makes me happy today even though it happened 2 summers ago. I remember it so vividly... the sights, the sounds around me, the aroma of the coffee and my yummy sandwich, the perspiration dripping down my back, the feel of my flip flops against the concrete, the slight tilt of the table I happened to be sitting at.

It was a glorious 25 minutes of sipping water, then sipping coffee, the sipping water again before I bit into my warm sandwich. The coffee was the BEST COFFEE I ever had! (Was it really the best coffee? Maybe not, but at the time it seemed like it and it probably came pretty close.)

So, my friends... THIS makes me happy today.... What makes you happy today?

Sort:  

Congratulations @suzetteboyette! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64155.87
ETH 3422.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59