Behind My Eyes - Poetry

in #life6 years ago

Distant calls of what once was
Haunt my mind, behind my eyes.
You see beauty, kindness, compassion,
I see anger, fear, abuse.
The pictures behind the soft green glow,
Is something special, just for me.
The hurt is mine, the pain a constant,
And when you say "I love your eyes" - if only you knew.
It's said that the eyes are the windows to ones soul,
Not mine, my eyes are my shield so you cannot see
The distant calls of what once was
Haunting my mind behind my eyes.

IMG_20180517_203710_101.jpg

Picture - My Eyes - by me

Sort:  

This piece portrays the regular person. We all have monsters deep within us. Gloom and sadness, hidden beneath those cute smiles and beaming eyes.

Nice poem, @suzanrs

Indeed we do. Thanks for the supportive comment.

You're most welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66466.45
ETH 3595.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90