Let's Get Married!

in #life7 years ago (edited)


image credit

Hey, let’s get married . Yes, for real. Let’s announce our engagement to the world and make our families squeeze out time to fulfill traditions. Let’s swear to love each other from the heart and vow to stick to each other through thick and thin.

Let’s spend our life’s savings and contributions from family members on our wedding. Drinks, food, gifts, let’s buy them all and entertain people. Let’s hire an expensive videographer to cover the occasion, because, it’s our day of course. But before that we have to find time off work and devote it to planning and taking pre-wedding pics.

You have to indulge me a little, for I have ladies to please, ladies that are willing to spend money to wear colorful clothes on my wedding day and parade themselves with invisible “who’s next?” badge gracefully pinned to their backs. Oh, of course, I have to indulge you too. You have your bachelor’s night to go to. Yes, what happens there stays there. I really don’t need details, for I’m afraid to sag my poor head with such information.

Let’s put up a show of how much we love each other and make younger ones dream of being in our shoes. But we have to go home, and bath ourselves in the euphoria of a wedding night. Let’s wake up in the morning with mixed feeling of heavy responsibility on our shoulders. Yes, we’d try to fulfill the roles society has taught us that we have. We’d make it work, we’d promise each other. Let’s delay having kids till you get that promotion you’ve always wanted. Babyfood is expensive. Did you forget? our money was spent on the wedding.

Honeymoon? But it can wait. 1 year, 2 years, 3 years. It can wait. Let’s be engrossed in so much work, so much that we barely have time for each other. I only have time for the kids? But you understand how exhausted I am when I come home from work. No? Then you must know I am no superwoman.

What’s this I’m hearing? You’re cheating? Let’s act as if I have no idea what’s going on. Let people talk about how I’ve been unable to keep my home. But I will not bear this, so I will leave, for a while, to sort out my next move.

Let market women whisper it as soon as I’m done patronizing them. “Does she not know it’s in their nature to cheat?” They will say. Ah! The bike man too. Let him call me a divorcee over an argument about the price of the transport fare, even though we’re not legally divorced.

I have to go home to my mom, my sweet mom. Let her tell me to count my blessings. Let me count my blessings then, then I will return to you, my beloved husband.
But for now I’d like to count my blessings.
Please hear me out

https://steemit.com/life/@sussan/count-your-blessings

Sort:  

Awesome, beautiful, captivating.. Started reading and I was hooked! The joys of getting married, the pains of going through the thin together.. The afterwards loneliness and gloom... it's lovely!

You could have just stayed single.
Ermmmm, but then again this post wouldn't have been possible.

Such societal pressures.

🚶🚶🚶🚶🚶

Excellent contain @sussan but marriage is still on my 4th agenda 👫

Wow........... Sad....

It's sad o

@sussan steem sis, This is very appalling, this is what we see in the present world, divorce everywhere that is not how the originator of marriage planned it. Before someone goes into marriage i think it should be well planned

@sussan you killed this one. Nice one

I'm not a killer o!
Meanwhile, have you read the second one?

Damn sussan ! i love the sarcasm in this...it held me spell bound to the very end

Thanks dear.
I'm glad you saw the sarcasm

Lol I must first laugh with the context I read.
Hmmmm I think we all know and as our African elders often say"when it's time for a child to have a hoe, let him have it".
Going into marriage, to some is a joy while to others seems like they're forced to it. Irrespective of either of these, one should know marriage is neither a child's play nor a chess game.
You want to get married because you're due for it? Maybe that's what most couples who last only weeks after honeymoon thought.

I call that desperate marriage.
Listen!
You married because you know what marriage is.
*You married because you accept that man or woman not because you love her.

*You married because you're in for the best and the worst of that man or woman.

Let me ask this. Why do men cheat after getting married to that beautiful lady of theirs?

Most women don't care to know why. They assumed it's in the trait of men to cheat hence generalization.

Taking it from psychological perspective, men naturally are attracted to what they see, hence vital it is the appearance of a woman.

A man who often sees his woman appearance as one in town before marriage now sees her as a odd. Does he really want to see her that way, my answer is no. Don't get me wrong I'm no justifying every infidelity act of man but categorically women are in fact the one sending their men out passively to look for alternative.

Where have they kept the packaging?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64122.04
ETH 2745.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66