Each Day As it Comes

in #life7 years ago

I’m just going to give two examples and make my point.

divider-1024.png

There’s this northern man that sells oranges close to my school gate.
The man just peels oranges and sells, that’s all.

Now I’ve been in school for four years, and this man was there before I started schooling. I thought to myself, how long does this man want to keep selling oranges? How would his family survive with just selling oranges?

One day I asked him, Oga, (creole for Sir), “Why is it that everyday you peel orange and sell? Why don’t you get a shop and sell more fruits or just do more? I was really puzzled.

He said No, that he gets what’s enough for him and his family to eat and that’s okay for him. He doesn’t want to do more. His answer really got me thinking. How much is really needed?

This made me remember a story a ghanian friend told me.

A man saw a fisherman fishing with his hook. He noticed that the man comes to fish everyday and this conversation ensued between them.

Man: Why do you fish everyday?

Fisherman: I love fishing and I take what’s enough for my family to cook and eat each day.

Man: Hahahaha… I can’t believe this. Why don’t you fish some more and sell?

Fisherman: If I sell my fish, then what next?

Man: You can buy a boat and more fishing equipment and fish and get more money.

Fisherman: Then what next? What will I do with the money?

Man: Then you employ people to do the work for you. Open a company, create a department for fishing, for sales, delivery, preservation etc.

Fisherman: When I have all this, what next?

Man: Then since you love fishing so much, you can come back and just fish once in a while with your fishing line at a good age.

Fisherman: So what am I doing now?

The similarity in this story is that the men in the story just wanted to get what they really needed for each day without worries.
Some rich men, their security guards sleep better than them because the rich man stays up at night, calculating, drawing balance sheets, or even scared that robbers may come at any time.

I’m wondering, what will happen if we take Each day as it comes?

Sort:  

wow...contentment, scarce these days. thanks @sussan

That's the word.
Tnx

my dear that is life for you...many are not contented with what the have

They just got meaning to their lives, they are better than what we might think.

real meaning

As funny as the story is the lessons stand out more....really its just human's greediness we need less than we hustle for

yeah

I look only to the good qualities of men. Not being faultless myself, I won't presume to probe into the faults of others.

- Mahatma Gandhi

I think in the general sense, we should not always think amassing more than is needed. Nice story with some lessons

tnx

Congratulations @sussan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you for this wonderful piece. It really calls for sober reflections.

Thanks a lot, @samstickkz
Always caring

You're welcome dear

The similarity in this story is that the men in the story just wanted to get what they really needed for each day without worries.
Some rich men, their security guards sleep better than them because the rich man stays up at night, calculating, drawing balance sheets, or even scared that robbers may come at any time.

Just like the rich fool Yeshua talked about unborn ofbhis parables

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62497.97
ETH 2428.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65