Why Everyone Should Try to Volunteer for Something

in #life8 years ago (edited)

I've volunteered as an IT consultant for seniors that needed help with computers and I'm currently an editor for a charity adventure company. I help them with marketing, blogging and social media. I really think my effort is making a difference and I feel valuable because I'm doing something that's of value for someone else. 


The first time I did some volunteering was at the library in my hometown. I was helping seniors with computers and phones. I met so many lovely people there. Some of them also told me a lot about their lives and I really enjoyed speaking to senior citizens. They had so much valuable knowledge and insight.

What I'm doing now is completely different, I do it behind the computer. I don't get to meet people, but I know that what I do is benefitting the charities work for the people they are helping. I'm helping a company out with writing and social media. This company takes on extreme challenges around the world to raise money for a charitable cause. All the money goes directly from the giver to the charity, so the company has no income and is not paying salaries to anyone. I wanted to make a difference and to contribute to this great company's work.

Charity has helped me become less selfish. It has opened my eyes to something bigger than myself. It's very rewarding, especially when you help someone the way I did at the library. So many people were very grateful and they would always tell me what my help meant to them. 

Some benefits of volunteering: 

Through volunteering you meet peopple. Awesome people!
While helping people I learned new skills.
Volunteering made me feel happy and useful.

I really recommend trying volunteering! Pick something you know how to do or something you are passionate about.
Make a difference. 

Have you volunteered for something? How did it go? 


Susanne

Sort:  

Steem_Land Steemland.com tweeted @ 14 Nov 2016 - 04:55 UTC

Why Everyone Should Try to Volunteer for Something — Steemit

steemit.com/life/@susanne/… / https://t.co/Mau0qypmJq

@SteemUps @SteemitPosts @steemit @steemiobot

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $10.40 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 14 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

We volunteer three times a week to exercise huskies in the rescue pound... double benefit is the dogs get exercise but so do we... a 6km run !!
You are right Susanne ... volunteering for causes you believe in does enrich your life.

That is awesome! Huskies are so beautiful. Thats is a win-win situation! Keep up the good work.

Congratulations on your decision @susanne, karma exists will double your actions

Thanks :) I do believe in karma, so hopefully it exists.

Thanks @susanne the problem is how to make a difference between volunteering and giving services for $0 price. Specially for us in the field of engineering, most of the volunteering means working on stuff for free while most of the advantages of volunteering like networking and making a reputation is ignored in this way of working.

That is a concern, but you could volunteer for something that has nothing to with you profession too:)

Good point!

I have and will continue to volunteer, it's a great way to contribute something. For just a little time you can gain and give so much!

I agre! Good job and that is some wise words.

I periodically help at the animal shelter with the cats. I take my son there to spend time with cats and interact with them. The more they get attention and love from people, the more adoptable they become.

That is very cool! It's probably nice for your son to spend some time with animals too. Good job!

Thank you. I think it is important because men usually don't like cats, and are more drawn to dogs. I think there is nothing wrong with a guy who prefers cats-- it doesn't make him any less masculine to be a "cat person".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84