You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Crap I Put Up With (as a Woman in Crypto) Because You Say You're "Not a feminist"

in #life8 years ago

Hi @kato
I have read your post now. In hindsight, I realize that my comment "I'm not a feminist" was very unnecessary. And I get why that is offensive to you. I'm sorry!

I should have spent more time writing my summary. I could have said it somehow like this instead: "I don't consider myself a feminist, because I don't know enought about it. I'm pro equality. And I’m sick of being underestimated, just because I’m not a boy.

I will keep your post in mind, and I will check out http://bitcoinwomen.org/.

Susanne

Sort:  

Hey @susanne! Thanks so much for reading and reflecting!

I'm sick of being underestimated based on my gender, too. There are people doing things about it, though! If you want to learn more about them, or at the very least, make some gal friends in tech so you can bitch about your day from someone who understands, head to a "women in tech" meetup or something similar wherever you are. I find everyone at the ones I've been to very friendly!

That's the least I could do, I'm truly sorry!
That's good to know, and maybe I should consider that too. And I'll def. look that up.

I questioned a post earlier and was met with 'would it have been more valuable if I was in a bikini?' I had questioned the post, not the postER, and I did not know the person's gender identity.

In general I don't think people like being called 'ists' unless they self identify as 'ists'. Susanne saying she is not a 'feminist' may be similar to me saying I am not a 'statist' although it seems like 98.7% of people on steemit would call me one. I don't call myself one so I reject the title. If I read up on it I may decide I like the title, but until then don't.

I'm lucky my IT department is all women, they get stuff done.

Nice glasses!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58986.04
ETH 2580.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53