i was known as a racist for 2 years because of a miss-understanding

in #life6 years ago

Soooo this is a story about when I was in year 9 (8th grade).

We were sitting in biology, and the teacher was saying about a school trip to a zoo. She mentioned that there would be monkeys.

I then said, "We don't need to see monkeys We've got plenty of monkeys her" and pointed to my friend and another. (both white). I meant it as an insult as calling them silly. trying to make a joke

There were three black kids sitting next to them. So the entire class started screaming "OMG THATS SOOO RACIST". I was so confused at first. Then i realised the racial connotations with that word and the way the whole thing looked.

I was known as racist, and because my school exaggerates everything, it went from-

x called black people monkeys

--> x hates black people and called them stupid apes

--> x punched a black kid in biology class and called him an ape

--> x is a horrible racist

soooo yep. That was possibly one of the worst things that happened, all from a misunderstanding. No matter how much I tried to explain, they all seemed to love the fact that i was a "racist".

lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62170.06
ETH 2415.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65