You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: No one knows how to do stuff anymore

in #life6 years ago

Bro I feel exactly the same, I am “fairly” handy, compared to most of my friends, but compared to my parents generation it’s not even close. My dad had built extensions onto or old house with his dad, renovated houses, fixed garages, fences, bathrooms, cars etcetc,.. it’s a skill that I never managed to grasp as well and it’s due to to many distractions! I am almost 30, but millennials I feel have wayyy less “hands on” skills than ever. Some crazy times are ahead!

Also, today (and that past 15-20 years) having a trade job isn’t encouraged. It’s basically, if you fail at school you go and learn a trade. It shouldn’t be like that! Imagine if it was just as recognised as a mechanical engineering role (my career) then we would have a massive range of tradies! I would have loved to use my hands, but was told silly things at school like “you can do maths so don’t become a builder” for example... strange times!

Sort:  

yeah and in the meantime the "losers" that I grew up with that went into trades made bank and are much happier with their lives than most of the people trapped in a cubicle 5 days a week!

Yep exactly! Some of the school “dropouts” who didn’t even pass their exams are making bank now, and if they had a bit of smarts to them they have their own business and are sitting back in their house making money!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57142.47
ETH 2437.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39