Honoring My Veteran Fathers Passing ... RIP Daddy

in #life8 years ago (edited)


When you least expect it...
your life turns upside down....and inside out....


Trying to get back into my groove after spending the past two weeks going through a lifetime of my fathers belongings. It has been a very difficult process of letting go of all the things that he worked so hard for all his life. Thankfully, the family all pitched in to do the hard part of emptying out and cleaning up his home.

It seems so strange to not receive his daily phone calls. He loved to chat for a few minutes each day about nothing much at all. He always said, he just needed to flap his gums at someone.... lol.

Well, I found a box of my fathers pictures for when he was in the USMC and stationed at the Panama Canal during the Korean conflict in the 50's. So it seemed fitting to save some of them and put them together in a scrapbook to honor his time as a Veteran. I even included some of the papers he had saved as well.



"Barracks Room"





"Relaxing"





"Shinning his shoes for inspection"





"Playing cards with his buddies"





"The Cabana"





"Showing off his diving skills"





"Ocean Volleyball"





"Weapons Cleaning"





"Getting Tattoos"





"His Liberty Pass Home For Christmas"





"Scrapbook page one"





"Scrapbook page two"

I am so glad that I have these photos to add to my family album in honor of his service to our country. Thankfully he had saved them from this very important time in his life. Thank you for your service dad, RIP.

Thank you for stopping by my post, I hope you enjoyed seeing some of the old photos of my father and his fellow Marines having some fun while stationed in the Panama Canal Zone.

Until next time, this is Sunscape...
Sun. Scape. Ing your day

Previous Posts @sunscape
My Website
My Etsy Store - Sunscapes Soaps & Soaks
My Etsy Store - Crystal Vibrations
My Tweets on Twitter



Badge Courtesy of

@elyaque

Sort:  

My Grandfather was a cool Dude!!

Yeah he was @hilarski he always said the same about you!

Hey I see "Panama Viejo Tower, how cool is that. @sunscape Great photos Mom ;)

Thanks Ana, just think he was there when there wasn't even a city yet.

I know right? Love you @sunscape

What a beautiful tribute!

Thank you so much @richq11 He so loved the memories of his time in the service!

Most of us do, it's a kinship unlike any other. I was in Vietnam.

Good for you @richq11 that was a very difficult and interesting experience for the whole world to go through. I remember how it impacted me as a young teenager, that war changed my whole outlook on life. Thank you for also serving our country.

I was a teenager too I went in at 17 and wasn't yet 19 when I got to Nam

Dearest @sunscape - I wasn't certain if I could read through your post without tears in my eyes. I know the acute loss of a daddy and I am so sorry to welcome you into that terrible club. :'(

You scrapbook pages are absolutely wonderful and I hope that you are finding joy through the tears as you work your way through those old photographs. HUGS.

Oh Sweet @merej99 thank you for your kind words. Finding the pictures and working on the pages has brought much peace to the whole process. :-)

Those are amazing images! Thank you for sharing them. I really hope putting this post together made you smile thinking of him.

Thank you, the pictures were a blessing to find and brought a new level of understanding of who my father was.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.44 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 14 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you for posting @sunscape. What a lovely tribute to someone you hold dear...especially when that someone is your father.

Very much appreciated the pictures and remembrances of someone who served their country.

Thinking of you at this time of loss.
Sympathy extended.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62084.99
ETH 2415.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62