New Communty Series! HOW TO TELL YOUR BOSS IS A JERKsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

Hey Everyone!

So I've been meaning to compile a book of short stories for a while about the horrors of working the 9 to 5 and the Michael Scotts of the world that make our work lives miserable! I was inspired by some experiences I've had, as well as the experiences of some of my friends. I'm making a new tag for this #jerkboss and I'm going to start us off with a story of my own! Please use the #jerkboss tag to tell us your own stories and then anyone can click on the tag and read our tales of woe....

YOUR BOSS MIGHT BE A JERK IF HE ASKS TO WITHHOLD YOUR PAYCHECK ... 12 DIFFERENT TIMES

So not long ago I was working for a local startup in the online education space. It was manned by two men who had illustrious careers (or so they told us) before striking out on their own with the mission to "change the world." Their business model was simple; they would find "thought leaders" have them pay a large sum of money to start production with us, and then create a product with us we would rev share on. It seemed like a great idea; how could it go wrong??

Well as time went on it seemed there were a shit ton of ways it could wrong, including the recruiting of crap thought leaders, unrealistic ideas of return on product for ecourses, and the fact that anyone could do this on their own??? Basically, the two leaders of the company had no real plan, just a vague vision and were unable to stay focused on any goals they set.

Of course the company started going downhill. Loyal workers put in 50 - 60 hours a week to keep the company afloat. Money was drying up, but of course no one could know... except me, and a few other "privileged" individuals. Why did we know? Because we were targeted as chumps and asked to delay cashing our paychecks ... on 12 different occasions.

I have no idea why I agreed to such a request, looking back I should have thrown them one of these...

Then one of these...

And walked out the door

But I didn't, and I stayed till the bitter end, helping close the doors to the company out of loyalty to my fellow workers and our poor, duped clients.

So the moral of the story is, your boss may be a jerk if he asks to withhold your paycheck, especially if he is still cashing his.

Gifs courtesy of giphy.com

Sort:  

lol 😂😂😂 , you reminded me of horrible bosses movie. by the way you can take more ideas from it 😄😄😄

Yeah but this is my real life, not a movie, haha. I have so many other stories, those two were a goldmine! Plus some stories from my friends... wow. I want people on Steemit to post with their experiences too though.

That's a common issue these day difficult to find a good boss who teaches you well

Yeah, there's this weird entitlement that has happened with employers, like you should be honored to work for them, instead of a more equal relationship.

#jerkboss could be if we make this story then our boss read. Can - can directly in our DO later ...

How will be we #life and we didn't gote #money again.

hahahaha.

But maybe it's fun time .. i will soon join.
thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58702.17
ETH 2301.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46