You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You Can't Handle the Change! [Part 2]

in #life7 years ago

@the-alien I enjoyed reading your 2 part series here on handling change. From your picture I figure I am probably old enough to be the age of your grandfather. I am new to Steemit, less than a week, and don't have a clue about crypto- currencies. I do embrace change and that is exactly why I am here on Steemit, to learn and also to give my thoughts on a variety of random subjects that interest me.
I do believe that crypto-currencies will replace fiat , it is just a matter of time, maybe not completely in my life time but it will happen. To give some perspective on my position: back in the mid 80's of the last century before there were laptops and cell phone and the only apple you had came from a tree I invested in a penny stock called AOL, America Online . They pitched an idea of people all over the world connected together sharing information through some type of network, eventually it ended up being called the internet. I would like to tell you my $500 investment for 12,500 shares made me a millionaire but such was not the case, the initial founders got the capital they needed and then bankrupted the company, moved it to Virginia and relaunched it, it became a huge success. Naturally my stock was worthless, but a lesson learned.
Right now I look at crypto-currencies kind of like a poker game. I enjoy poker , even play online, but before I jump in and start playing I like to look and see who the players are, how they play, what their tendencies are and if it is alive game what their body language reveals.
So if you or some of your close friends have a suggestion on what game I should be watching it would be much appreciated. I hope you don't mind me following you on here, and if I comment again I promise to keep it short. Thanks ,
@sultnpapper

Sort:  

First of all, thanks for the amazing comment! And you're right, absolutely. It's like a poker game, some currencies are better managed than others. Some would make people very happy in the future and others will fail, but just like the AOL example you gave, the internet will take over someday, maybe not with that first company, but it sooner or later it will.

As in which game you should be watching, that's a question I get a lot, and while I cannot give any advice on that since it's a personal decision and everyone has to do their due diligence, this what I would do: I invest in a quite a few, always money that you can afford to lose so you don't mind holding for a long time, and also some put small cash into new currencies that can either crash or can increase their value dramatically. I have friends who spend like 5 bucks from time to time (they call it coffee money) to buy highly volatile currencies, if they lose it's ok they don't mind, but if it skyrockets they're happy depending on how much coffee money they put into it.

It's similar to poker in many ways, but not like it's one game only, it's like you're playing everyday and you need some bankroll management to use gains for savings, profit and to keep playing in new tables each day.

Steem is game worth watching by the way.

Anyways, sorry for the long comment. I hope you're having a great day!

Thank you for your kind response and perspective on the crypto currencies, it is very much appreciated. If you do run across a full house or royal flush be sure and show me your hand when your done. Thanks again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53912.73
ETH 2234.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30