I Lost $4150 while I was sleeping

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I don't know how anyone would react to this but for me, it was not an easy thing to handle.

Most of the people on steemit know about bitconnect, many invested in it and many remained out of it.

On 16th Jan, I woke up to this news and I could feel myself unable to stand on my feet properly as I couldn't digest it.So many people had warned me about bitconnect that it is a scam and I also knew it. What I had in mind was that they will not exit this early.

But they did and left me with more than $4000 worth of bitconnect token which no one was ready to buy. Yes, you read right, I lost like 4k and it is a hell of a lot of money.

With the news of stopping their lending program and release of the whole bitconnect token, it crashed and fell like crazy to $40 from $300. I tried to sell it on external exchanges but couldn't as they had stopped accepting new registrations and one didn't send me verification lint till now.

Yes, it was a hard time for me and I knew about it but was not just ready for the news at that time.It was one of the reasons which kept me away from steem too so I didn't post any blog in last 6 days.

Current Suitation

Next day we got an update from bitconnect that they have opened their internal exchange and also accepting it on their new platform with the price of $150/bitconnect. It was a sign of relief for me. I was like "Something is better than nothing"

For the last three days, I have been trying to buy bitconnectX token as for me that is the wise decision at the moment but no luck.Whenever I go and check get the message that they have reached the daily limit so better luck next time.

I live in Asia, so have time zone problem, Now I am planning to wake up today at 5 am according to my time which is equal to 12 am UTC, so hope to get them this time.195

Have you lost or anyone you know about? What is his/her story and how much they lost?

@suf1an

Sort:  

Hello mate - I am also a victim of Bitconnect. I've moved my BCC to Coinexchange.io in expectation of having higher prices in future. Hope everything gets well soon.
I haven't looked in Bitconnect X yet. Will check that one. Let's be in touch.

My post on Bitconnect scam: https://steemit.com/bitconnect/@kwlvarun/bitconnect-lending-and-exchange-platform-shut-down

Yeah, sure.
I was getting very low rate there so I was like to hell with BCC :p

You win some, you loose some. Bad luck..

Yeah, it is how life works. I have no regrets, just want to learn from my this mistake and move on.

True enough. Hopefully I will see some posts where you win some instead in the future. Wish you further good luck in the cryptomarket.

I've had a keen eye for scams ever since I fell for the hashie.io scam a couple of years ago. The premise was cloud-based hashing, and you got 10 GHS for free but you had to buy $10 worth of hashpower to unlock your earnings.

I should've known it was a scam when the returns on the site were so high, I was getting like 13% a day or something ridiculous - and I was investing it all in more hashing power. The temptation to give them more and more money was great and at the time it seemed to make sense looking at the ROI.

Eventually the site went down for a couple days and when it reappeared, the chat bot/admin had been renamed to ELsa - who then proceeded to tell us that all our money and hashpower had been 'converted to frozen coin' (cleaver way of telling us our funds had been frozen)

O dear, so sad to hear that. Yeah, where internet has so many good aspects there it has also given courage to some bad people to exploit it.

I don't know if anything similar is happening in Asia, but in the US there was just a class-action lawsuit filed, sueing Bitconnect. While it may not help with your situation, those guys are going to get what's coming to them.
https://steemit.com/bitconnect/@covinsjourney/class-action-lawsuit-filed-against-binconnect-and-youtubers

Yeah, I read about it. let's see how it goes.

Sorry to here you lose, your right it is a lot money. Hood luck in the future

I don't think you are reading that right. If you transfer your bcc to bitconnectx you will get $150 per bcc. Its says right there under your bcc amount. So basically we just have to wait until the exchange(hopefully opens) to cash out. You don't need to buy more or anything in there. I can't wait to cash out mine on the exchange. I got some also in the bcc staking wallet seeing how that works out before transferring those to bccx.

No they had to offer that for 10 days and now it has ended.
On exchange, you are only getting $12/coin which is not worth it.

Yeh I missed that. I thought by sending it there it would get the $150. I didnt realize I had to then exchange it for bccx. Total failure on my part. I did get some bccx on the ICO. I dont even expect bccx to open. They got me good. smh

If the money is a “hell of a lot”, then perhaps you put too much into it. As with anything you invest in, if you can’t afford to loose it, don’t invest it.

Yes, you are right. You should only invest that money which you can afford to lose.
My reason of writing it that way was only to show that it was not a small amount.

I know how you feel... But at least you got sometbing back bro

It is so sad. Many people is suffering for BCC problem. 260% upvoted Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62922.70
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83