Every morning we start anew.

in #life7 years ago

Hi, I'm Stu.

I'm new here, I'm slowly getting the hang of the steemit thing - it's all very exciting for me especially as I'm a bona fide commercial photographer - I'm looking forward to a awesome learning and teaching platform.

I'd like to share a story with you.

The image I present before you is 6 years old come fathers day 2017.

Such a special fathers day- taking my 2 boys (2ys & 4 Yrs old) on a whale watching tour in Cairns Far North Queensland Australia.

The day before they were so excited! however come 5am on the day the story was quite different, the poor chaps had a tough start to the day with rough seas, high wind, rain and lots of sea sickness and with a distinct lack of light the prospect of seeing any whales seemed remote.

For what seemed an eternity we steamed toward a distant island somewhere on the horizon.

Suddenly, the boys were bright orange. The sun had erupted. Instantly the weather cleared, the seas calmed and the sun fireball just exploded. Extenuated by the presence of a tanker directly below it, it was more than enormous, it was Gi-normous (sic). I turned, raised my camera and shot a few frames and just like an explosion it was gone.

Ok, my retelling of the tale might be embellished somewhat, (I did struggle to not mention a Norse god- damn it there he is..)

Anyway, the image through the lens burned into my consciousness and it occurred to me that we create our own sunrise every day; even though the weather had been rough and the promise of success seemed remote, it turned around in a matter of minutes with the emergence of focused light. We have the capacity of that focus within us. We can dictate how we will manage each day

I used a Nikon D700 with a 70-200mm at 200mm f5 1/320sec - I'd like to say it was set to manual and my fingers went into full auto mode to professionally nail the perfect sunrise moment, but I actually think the boys had been doing an impromptu shoot with toy tin rockets the day before and had "adjusted" the camera. So, yeah, it was a Karma shot. I must have been a damn nice guy to someone!

Almost as soon as the sun calmed down boys tummies settled and the whales appeared, but I'll save those shots for a future post.STU_9049.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @stufrost I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome!

Will be looking forward to hear more about your luck!

Congratulations @stufrost! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

welcome to steemit @stufrost
following you now.
follow me back pls. :)

Thanks! will do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44