You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Full-time travel. RVing, vandwelling, travel trailers.

in #life6 years ago

Great post. I am working on a plan to do lots of road tripping in the future. I'm leaning towards a trailer since I have a truck and my parents had an RV for a bit but said it's a pian to maintain an entire vehicle compared to a trailer. I'm going to start looking for something used and affordable for me. I also am curious if trailers have a good resale value since you aren't putting miles on an engine. It's really just how nice the trailer is.

Sort:  

Congrats on your plans! Moving into an RV (or travel trailer) is a huge step.
As far as retaining value travel trailers definitely are depreciating much slower than motorhomes. But regardless of which you choose to buy my advice would be to avoid buying brand new. Any new RV automatically loses 25% of its value the moment you drive it off the lot. At least here in the States. Try to buy gently used. Ask if anyone lived in it full-time, had pets in it, or smoked (that you can do by both asking and observing the seller). All of the above aspects will affect your enjoying your new home on wheels one way or the other. Don't worry about the looks of the interior too much: I've seen people do a marvelous job painting walls, reupholstering seats, and sometimes ripping off the carpets and replacing them with hardwood flooring. If you are handy you can buy your first home cheap and then turn it into a real gem. Granted resources are also available.
I agree with your parents saying that it is easier to take care of a travel trailer. You can also use your tow vehicle to go around explore after you check into a park. But when it comes to things break, it happens to both motorhome or a trailer equally - imagine your home going through a series of earthquakes (that's what it looks like every time you move around). Of course things will get loose, you will be spending some time fixing things around. That is true to both tt or a motorhome.
In the end think about your lifestyle and your level of necessary comfort. Motorhome fits ours: we have a bunch of remote controlled airplanes, 2 scooters, 2 bicycles, a paddleboard and a raft. All those toys we tow with our house on wheels. It is just seems to work out better for us. I would suggest for you to think of you needs for recreation. If you don't need much, maybe you can even try out to convert a van (I've seen really interesting ideas on the web) and go explore while young. You can always upgrade later. :)
Good luck!!

Thanks for the great reply. I'll be researching for a year or so. I have some time. I will have lots of recreation equipment. At least a mountain bike. I've been watching lots of great videos on trailers and remodeling them. Very cool stuff out there to get ideas from.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63764.77
ETH 3430.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53