25 years ago on 30th April 1993, the web opened up and the world changed

in #life6 years ago

Hey I didn't know till now that yesterday 30th April was 25 years of internet.

I found an article (here: https://www.fastcompany.com/40565692/25-years-ago-today-the-web-opened-up-and-the-world-changed) that says:

25 years ago today, the web opened up and the world changed

2016-08-23-image-11.jpg

On April 30, 1993, CERN—the European Organization for Nuclear Research—announced that it was putting a piece of software developed by one of its researchers, Tim Berners-Lee, into the public domain.

cern_bacground-image1.png

That software was a “global computer networked information system” called the World Wide Web, and CERN’s decision meant that anyone, anywhere, could run a website and do anything with it. In an era when online services were still dominated by proprietary, for-profit walled gardens such as AOL and CompuServe, that was a radical idea.

Statement concerning CERN W3 software release into public domain: https://twitter.com/smiermont/status/990981799554748416/photo/1

On this day, 25 years ago, @CERN made history by releasing the World Wide Web technology into the public domain and gifting us the seed of a revolution for human communication and commerce. The importance of having chosen the public domain cannot be overstated.
(Sylvain Miermont
@smiermont)

When CERN gave the web to the world, the internet was still largely the province of academics, researchers, and professional technologists. But thanks in part to the web’s approachability, consumers and businesses soon began hopping on board.

Screen-Shot-2014-09-29-at-10.49.49-AM.jpg

Useful tools such as Yahoo (January 1994) and the Netscape browser (October 1994) were built upon Berners-Lee’s creation. And by 1995 or so, it was clear that the web was going to be one of the few technologies in history that really would change everything.

slide-2-100522663-orig.jpeg

Thank you for reading!

Don't forget to +follow, comment what you think & upvote post if you like it!
Strictly Business

Sort:  

Don't Copy Paste From Next Time :)

I just shared content which I found interesting ( = I was thinking... if there were no web I wonder what would I do in my life now ( = not only web but also crypto and other marketing and management opportunities

Try To Post Original Content

Check my blog and you will see that I have 99% original content ( = and @tadej profile 100% where is only my original content and I don't resteem there. I have also some videos that I have recorded and allot of photography... but I'm not in Slovenia and can't upload them because I have limited internet.

yeah...internet change the whole world...like yor post bro. keep me in your mind @strictlybusiness

this post din't change much maybe a bit off awareness when world wide web was released ( =

Yes...internet change everything

Can anyone imagine how would World look like if there were no internet?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56775.06
ETH 2345.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36