When Cutting Corners is a Good Thing - Life Projects - [blockchain] [journal]

in #life5 years ago (edited)

IMG_0802.JPG

Making the Cut

Today I am taking a cue from @cryptopie , who a few months ago would usually start his titles with "Dear Diary" when posting to the Steem Blockchain. This made me realize that posting on here could also be used as a diary or journal that could possibly remain on the blockchain for all of posterity. Our children, grandchildren and generations to follow could be reading this many years into the future to learn about us living our lives today. Amazing! This is why the word "journal" in brackets was included in the title of this post.

My job has recently kept me extremely busy while also working on some side projects when not on the job. One of those projects that I am working on is finishing the remodel to my daughter's bedroom. Her room was stripped of its rug, prepped for wood laminate flooring, and then the walls were painted blue. After that I installed a wood laminate flooring in her room, which I posted about here: Installing Wood Laminate Flooring and Finishing Touches to a New Dog House [home] [lifestyle].

So a good portion of this weekend I spent on finishing the rest of the flooring for my daughter's bedroom. Now that the floor has been installed, it needed a baseboard molding to finish the flooring. I chose a taller more elegant looking baseboard molding than the original pictured below for comparison. The new baseboard also came painted, making for less overall work.


baseboard1.jpg

I used a miter saw to make the saw cuts, and then angled the saw when making the corners cuts. My daughter's room also had two corners that were not at right angles or 90 degree but rather were at 135 degrees, which requires a different angle on the miter saw. After a little internet research I learned that for those cuts, the miter saw has to be placed at 22 degrees to make those cuts.

Once all the measuring and cuts where done, next came the installation of the baseboard pieces. I used 2 inch baseboard nails to nail down the baseboard pieces, then followed that up with a white colored baseboard molding caulking or sealant for where the baseboard meets the wall and at the seams where one piece of baseboard molding meets another piece like in a corner. I then used had to use a small metal punch to drive the baseboard nails down deeper into the baseboard molding followed up by filling the small indentation left by the nail with fast drying spackling. Then using a small brush and white paint I touched up the baseboard in order to cover up any small blemishes and help hide seams as well.


IMG_0801.JPG


IMG_0800.JPG

Her room is now 95% percent done, and she can at least now setup up her bedroom. I do need to finish the molding around the doorframe in her room. I had to remove some of the doorframe modeling in order to install the flooring, and will probably replace the original doorframe molding with something more elegant to match the new one that I installed on the floor.

Take care everyone and have a great day!

+++ @streetstyle

Sort:  

That molding is very beautiful, it is very similar to the one we have on the roof of our apartment.
With regard to steemit, I have also thought it is like a diary. In fact, my daughter @kathe-art tells her experiences in the publications, although on this holiday she could not publish, today she will be activated again. (If you want you can take a look at the night in his blog.)

Wow! That’s a lot of work! But you have the DIY ability to accomplish it nicely!
That blue colour is very soothing! Wonderful father you are!! The new bedroom must look really cool and be very comfortable!! Good job!

Have a nice weekend!

Thanks @kaminchan I appreciate that! Take care!

Smart to do so with the lists, it looks very nice

I've left a message for you here

https://steemit.com/spud/@streetstyle/yodeling-about-spud6-prizes-from-the-mountain-tops-october-1-2019-steem-blockchain

Hello @xpilar I will update the prize list soon.... thank you.

Nice room models, the preparation of plans for rooms and floors is very accurate, the development has been full of talent @streetstyle

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.01% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63022.98
ETH 2580.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72