Can Words Save A Life?: 100 Must Read BookssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

In 2008 my dreams of a “Fairy Tale” life died.



The Knight At The Crossroads


I had graduated in Spring of 2008 and was engaged to get married that December.

My plan was to get a teaching job that Fall and have a great secure job and income for the duration of our marriage.

Instead, I found myself working part time and struggling to get work each day as a substitute teacher.

I was lost.

Everything they told me about doing good in school, going to college and then get a job, didn’t pan out.

I had to do something.

Quick.


I used to never read introductions.

Reading was always something I enjoyed, but it wasn’t until I took a three week “May-mester” class in college that I really began reading as much as I try to do now.

The class was World War II History and we met from 8 am to Noon on Monday through Thursday.

My professor was Dr. Adrian R. Lewis. He was the Chair of the History Department at University of North Texas at the time the and was the only man I’ve ever hear lecture for four straight hours.

Not only did he talk the entire class, he was well prepared, organized, succinct, and stunning!

Our class would have been a total of 12 days, but Memorial Day was one of the Monday’s and so we ended up with only 11 days of class.

But, that didn’t keep Dr. Lewis from assigning us the entire reading load of a normal course.

We were assigned to read (all or in part):

Why the Allies Won by Richard Overy

Storm Landings by Joseph H. Alexander

Hitler's Army by Omer Bartov

Ordinary Men: Reserve Police Battalion 101 by Christopher R Browning

War Without Mercy: Race and Power in the Pacific War by John W. Dower

And of course, like any good college prof, his own book:

Omaha Beach: A Flawed Victory by Adrian R. Lewis

Needless to say, I didn’t finish all of it, but I tried.

After that, I had a breakthrough in my reading life and nothing has been the same since.

The thing that changed most is now my willingness to read Introductions to give me a more complete picture of what the book is about, because hey, there’s usually good stuff in there!

It was this new found hunger for reading that would save my life and help me out in 2008-2009.


There is no shortage of books to read.

But what to read when and why are always questions that came up.

As a kid I spent a ton of time by myself.

The finer moments included reading.

Several times I would climb the oak tree in our front yard and then wedge myself in the crook of branches. And then read for as long as I could stay up there.

Or else I would use a flashlight under the covers and read when I was supposed to be sleeping.

My elementary school once had a program to read for 600 minutes.

My young mind quickly calculated that to be 10 hours.

That made the task seem more achievable because the number 10 is way less than the number 600.

If I did it, I would be rewarded with a personal pizza.

A FREE pizza!

Behold the birth of the power of pizza on my life.

I loved reading because it took me away from my present and transported me into adventure.

Beyond adventure, I have come to respect reading fiction for the depth of humanity that is showcased within great works.

The intense emotions, the psychological insights, the fun and frivolity, charm, surprise, journey and crescendo until the ultimate outcome or resolution.

It wasn’t until I read some of these “great works” that I discovered the above to be true.


But where to start?

A google search for books to read led me to a list of 100 Must-Read Books: The Essential Man’s Library on the website: The Art of Manliness.

This was great!

It had a goal.

100 books.

It had descriptions / reasons why to read them.

It included classics, which I was interested in reading.

And it was about “The Art of Manliness”, which as a young man who had recently gotten married and whose life appeared to be coming apart, I was looking for some guidance of great men.

As a bonus, I had already read seven of the books on the list!


Saturday, ‎February ‎28, ‎2009, ‏‎3:34:25 PM, I created an Excel file to keep track of my reading progress.

As I write this I have 19 books remaining to be read.

My rate of reading and has varied over the years with life’s ebbs and flows.

Also I read a ton of books not on this list, for instance books about persuasion.

Or, if I like the author, I will read several more of their books.

Mostly, I am writing this post to motivate me to finish up the list.

From the 100 Must-Read Books: The Essential Man’s Library post:

“There are the books you read, and then there are the books that change your life. We can all look back on the books that have shaped our perspective on politics, religion, money, and love. Some will even become a source of inspiration for the rest of your life. From a seemingly infinite list of books of anecdotal or literal merit, we have narrowed down the top 100 books that have shaped the lives of individual men while also helping define broader cultural ideas of what it means to be a man.”

“Whether it be a book on adventure, war, or manners, there is so much to learn about life’s great questions from these gems. Let us know in the comments which of these you loved, hated, and the books that meant a lot to you and should have made the list (you can even get really indignant about your favorite book). And without further ado, this is our list.”

  1. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  2. The Prince by Niccolo Machiavelli
  3. Slaughterhouse‐Five by Kurt Vonnegut
  4. 1984 by George Orwell
  5. The Republic by Plato
  6. Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoevsky
  7. The Catcher and the Rye by J.D. Salinger
  8. The Wealth of Nations by Adam Smith
  9. For Whom the Bell Tolls by Ernest Hemingway
  10. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
  11. The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck
  12. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
  13. How To Win Friends And Influence People by Dale Carnegie
  14. Call of the Wild by Jack London
  15. The Rise of Theodore Roosevelt by Edmund Morris
  16. Swiss Family Robinson by Johann David Wyss
  17. Dharma Bums by Jack Kerouac
  18. The Iliad and Odyssey of Homer
  19. Catch‐22 by Joseph Heller
  20. Walden by Henry David Thoreau
  21. Lord of the Flies by William Golding
  22. The Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov
  23. Bluebeard by Kurt Vonnegut
  24. Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand
  25. The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka
  26. American Boys’ Handy Book
  27. Into Thin Air by John Krakauer
  28. King Solomon’s Mines by H. Rider Haggard
  29. The Idiot by Fyodor Dostoevsky
  30. A River Runs Through It by Norman F. Maclean
  31. The Island of Dr. Moreau by H.G. Wells
  32. Malcolm X: The Autobiography
  33. Theodore Rex by Edmund Morris
  34. The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas
  35. All Quiet on The Western Front by Erich Maria Remarq
  36. The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane
  37. Lives of the Noble Greeks and Romans by Plutarch
  38. The Strenuous Life by Theodore Roosevelt
  39. The Bible
  40. Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry
  41. The Maltese Falcon by Dashiell Hammett
  42. The Long Goodbye by Raymond Chandler
  43. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  44. The Dangerous Book for Boys by Conn and Hal Iggulden
  45. The Killer Angels by Michael Shaara
  46. The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin
  47. The Histories by Herodotus
  48. From Here to Eternity by James Jones
  49. The Frontier in American History by Frederick Jackson Turner
  50. Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance by Robert Pirsig
  51. Self Reliance by Ralph Waldo Emerson
  52. Another Roadside Attraction by Tom Robbins
  53. White Noise by Don Delillo
  54. Ulysses by James Joyce
  55. The Young Man’s Guide by William Alcott
  56. Blood Meridian, or the Evening Redness in the West by Cormac McCarthy
  57. Seek: Reports from the Edges of America & Beyond by Denis Johnson
  58. Crime And Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky
  59. Steppenwolf by Herman Hesse
  60. The Book of Deeds of Arms and of Chivalry by Christine De Pizan
  61. The Art of Warfare by Sun Tzu
  62. Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra
  63. Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer
  64. The Divine Comedy by Dante Alighieri
  65. The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien
  66. The Rough Riders by Theodore Roosevelt
  67. East of Eden by John Steinbeck
  68. Leviathan by Thomas Hobbes
  69. The Thin Red Line by James Jones
  70. Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
  71. The Politics by Aristotle
  72. First Edition of The Boy Scout Handbook
  73. Cyrano de Bergerac by Edmond Rostand
  74. Tropic of Cancer by Henry Miller
  75. The Crisis by Winston Churchill
  76. The Naked and The Dead by Norman Mailer
  77. Hatchet by Gary Paulsen
  78. Animal Farm by George Orwell
  79. Tarzan of the Apes by Edgar Rice Burroughs
  80. Beyond Good and Evil by Freidrich Nietzsche
  81. The Federalist Papers by Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, and James Madison
  82. Moby Dick by Herman Melville
  83. Essential Manners for Men by Peter Post
  84. Frankenstein by Mary Wollstonecraft Shelly
  85. Hamlet by Shakespeare
  86. The Boys of Summer by Roger Kahn
  87. A Separate Peace by John Knowles
  88. A Farewell To Arms by Ernest Hemingway
  89. The Stranger by Albert Camus
  90. Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Dafoe
  91. The Pearl by John Steinbeck
  92. On the Road by Jack Kerouac
  93. Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson
  94. Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole
  95. Foucault’s Pendulum by Umberto Eco
  96. The Great Railway Bazaar by Paul Theroux
  97. Fear and Trembling by Soren Kierkegaard
  98. Undaunted Courage by Stephen Ambrose
  99. Paradise Lost by John Milton
  100. Cannery Row by John Steinbeck

Just looking over this list again brings back fond memories of the stories I loved, the books I didn’t like, the life events I was going through and the solace I found in reading.

Let me hear from you, which of these books do you love and consider “must reads” or what books should I read once I finish this list?

Thanks,
@strangerarray


Michael


Written by Michael Paine

Please follow me, @strangerarray, because take a look, it's in a book, a reading rainbow.

Also feel free to send donations to: PayPal.Me/michaelpaine because I need more books.


Hey y’all for more great content check out my friends:

All robot images from steemd.com


@stellabelle

@ericvancewalton

@cristi

@micheletrainer

@mctiller

@lukeofkondor

@soulsistashakti

@mindover

@mars-eve

@patrick-g

@kaylinart

@romanskv

@the-alien

@razvanelulmarin

@strangerarray

@lat-nayar

@ann-hoy

@future24

@julia26
Sort:  

What a great list. Seems I have some catching up to do.

There is no end to books to read, but I figured this list is a great start of some high impact reading.

Remember to enjoy it!

Wonderful overwhelming list! I better get to it! I love Cannery Row and love going there too.

Steinbeck is one of my favorite and Cannery Row is great!

Thank you for posting. Yes, many advantages to reading the greats of the past.

C.S. Lewis once said if we are students of history, we will not be swayed by the propaganda of the present (paraphrased).

Reading thoughts of great minds improves our thinking and increases our vocabulary among other things. Robinson Curriculum has a list for various age groups which seems to be well received.

All the best. Cheers

Thank you @bleujay, I will have to look into that when I am finished!

Also, I have enjoyed many books by C.S. Lewis. For it was his Chronicles of Narnia that I would take up into the oak tree and read as a child.

Excellent list! Several "OHHH right!! I forgot that I want to read that!" titles. Thanks for the nudge.

Nice list. I always read introductions and forwards. I mostly read non-fiction though. When it comes to non-fiction the book isn't good unless it has foot notes. Read those too!

Yes, I do that as well.

That is a great point I forgot to mention!

Some of my favourite books of all time are on this list. Lord of the Flies, Catcher in the Rye, and To Kill a Mockingbird. All great books, I should really read the rest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57810.45
ETH 3116.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43