Writer's block is a pain

in #life7 years ago

I know, I know... a writer writing about writer's block is not exactly what I would call original, either. But the fact remains that when we are hit with it, it can be a crippling time for us creatively.

Some context:

I am a writer, blogger and journalist who also works on a lot of her own social media and is cultivating a new following on both a new blog and here on Steemit. In all, this does take a lot of time. That's ok because I love the work, but when the wheels start to fall off, it can be more than a bit scary.

I have deadlines. Whether they are self imposed or not, it is my responsibility to get things done on time. I post on my blog three times a week, try to post and comment on here daily and keep my social presence active by curating original content that will drive people to my site.

Today waas absolute hell.

The cursor did its little "na na nana na" dance on the screen, reminding me that I was making zero process. Twitter and Facebook were awash with Harry Potter posts, which would normally be an easy go for a Potterhead like me, but again, it was a no-go.

I eventually slammed out a blog about saving money but felt annoyed and underwhelmed. It was pulling teeth getting it on the page and it read very sterile.

We all have bad days (heck, I went almost 2 years without being able to put a cohesive thought on paper), and all I can hope that mine stays to being just one day.

@strangeanimal

steem-icon.jpg

Sort:  

Inspiration comes when it comes. There's really no forcing it. And it's best not to do anything at all if you aren't inspired toward that action. Don't ever feel unaccomplished... there's a reason for everything.

Agreed, but when it's an income thing, it can be a challenge.

I can't imagine when it is based on income but I agree with @sectual I get ideas for some of my bests posts randomly in the middle of day. It's when I forget about them later that drives me crazy!

Yeah. Journalist with a 12:00 deadline, sitting at his or her chair at 11:45, willing to sell their soul just to get the words on the page. there is a reason why writers are notorious for substance abuse. We are out of our minds with stress, so we get out of our minds with something else.

The dreaded writer's block. It's real and no amount of self-help books are going to get you out of it. Been there many times myself and know that you just have to be patient with yourself.
I did a youtube video about it a few weeks ago and it was like trying to pull my own teeth out. The video is terrible as I used a green screen. I looked like a zombie haha
Nice post and good to meet you.

I just noticed that the post is 3 days old. I upvoted it so you should still get paid? Right?

It's all good!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63006.79
ETH 2456.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59