Stubborn as an old mule!

in #life7 years ago

Life is amazing and totally strange...and me...well...I can sometimes be as stubborn as an old mule. And, with three score plus years under my belt, I'd say the latter is an apt description.

I've realized for a long time that the USSA has seen it's better days. And, even knowing that, it is amazing how long we hang onto things and ways of doing things because "that's the way it's always been done." LOL...or so we've been told.

As I stepped into "retirement," I also realized that what I had set aside (which quite frankly wasn't much) just wasn't going to get me through the next four decades at least. And, when you add in the fact that most of it depends on a government program that, even if it survives the coming collapse, won't be worth the toilet paper it might be able to buy...who am I kidding besides myself?

Okay, so I had come to the conclusion that there was no way I could remain in the USSA and live a "comfortable" life. So, with that in mind, I knew I had to find another country.

It was, honestly, by sheer happenstance that I ended up coming to Chile for a workshop. In the week I was in Chile that time, I knew this was at the very least my first stop. Since then, I have become a Residente Permanente of Chile.

Why you might ask? Simply put...I want to jettison the blue book, which unfortunately in the current world requires a replacement. So why not replace it with one that has almost the same reach as the blue book, but without the gun and strong arm capacity? For me, it was an acceptable alternative until decentralization demolishes borders and coercive governments.

So, why am I calling myself a stubborn old mule? Intellectually, I get it. I know, kind of strange for an old fart like me. However, I have recently realized that I am continuing to use the old programming installed in my brain "centuries" ago.

Unfortunately, those ways aren't conducive to free enterprise...and dare I say, anarcho-capitalism. That is ultimately where I want to be and how I want to do whatever it is that I do. But...umm...if I keep doing things the way I've always done them, I'm always going to get the same results, right? Duh!

IMG_1642.JPG

Now...I have got to say that the last 2.5 years in Chile have been pretty good. The departamento I have here in Valparaiso has an awesome view, which I am enjoying immensely! But, guess what dude (I am knocking on my wooden head), it ain't gonna last if you keep doing what you've always been doing.

Man! I'm sure I'm not alone in these false beliefs. How many more are there to be unearthed? Thousands I'm sure! Isn't it amazing how deeply buried they are in the unconscious mind?

What's your false belief that you've uncovered lately? I'd love to hear your stories.

Ciao for now

Sort:  

Congratulations @straitmedia! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67780.64
ETH 3792.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63