Once In A Lifetime...

in #life7 years ago

0821125441.jpg
Some times in our lives we are fortunate to experience a "Once In A Lifetime" experience. I know this picture doesn't do justice, but we recently experienced a total eclipse!! Now, for the scientists out there, a total eclipse happens about every 18 months, but depending on where you live though you'll only experience it once in a lifetime.

A total eclipse is when the moon covers the sun. Now, you might think well this is what is called nighttime. But what is special about this event is that takes place during the day!!! When the moon totally covers the sun, there is a darkening in the sky and a drop in temperatures. Now, the total process of the moon covering the sun takes a couple of hours, but once the moon totally covers the sun, there is darkness for only a couple of minutes.

0821171115.jpg

Now of course during this time when watching the sun it is recommended to wear glasses as looking directly at the sun could blind you. So I was fortunate enough to have some protective glasses and of course I kept hydrated!! Now, this "Once In A Lifetime" event was predicted well in advance, so cities/towns were making money off this event. People were travelling from all over to come to Nebraska as Nebraska was in the path of total darkness. Of course with this, people were making t-shirts and selling them. I couldn't at first understand what all the excitement was all about. Of course, I didn't fall for the "buying" into it! But I decided since at 50+ years of age if this was a "Once In A Lifetime" experience I was going to be able to say "hey, I witnessed it!" lol

I'm glad I did watch it because it wasn't about the "Once In A Lifetime" experience or "buying into it", it was more like getting closer to God. God is the one that is perfect and made this happen. It wasn't any person/scientist, it was God and God is every where if one just takes the time to look around, either in the skies or at the grass that we walk on, God is every where!!!

Sort:  

I remembered when I was in highschool I saw a eclips :)

Aha! Eclipse and a glass of beer sounds really good :D

Ha!! Actually some wild turkey and ginger ale!!!! lol

Oh the eclipse...You are lucky to have seen it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68220.71
ETH 3321.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74