You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: EcoKnowme for Hire. Permaculture Help to your rescue!

in #life7 years ago

Very impressive set of experiences, @ecoknowme! First I was a bit shocked by your fee, but with all those things under your belt it's well deserved. Best of luck with your clients! And I don't mean finding them (I'm sure there are plenty of them), I just hope you get the good ones. Not the kind of people that change their minds back and forth before deciding they're not interested after all... (and then fail to tell you.) If it weren't for those types, I'd be probably conducting some intensive observations on a 10 ha property right now. (On the downside I'd still be a complete stranger to cryptocurrencies and steemit, so yeay for the silver lining!)
Wow, I didn't mean to sound discouraging here. But guessing from your enthusiasm that would be hard to do anyway. ;-)

Sort:  

It's an experiment at this point. There seems to be very little going on at Peerhub but much potential. People that know me know the money is just a number to insinuate that there is value. Even the free hugs people don't get takers, but sometimes the smart alics that stand beside them charging $1 a hug get takers... go figure. I am more interested in being able to use my skills remotely and in person and I never considered the possibility of just doing it. So I put the hokey ad up and hope that after a few attempts something worthwhile might be worked out and we can all find a way to no longer be limited by tine and space. I did say the first 2 clients would be strictly donation, but that could be nothing, more or less. We shall see if anything is possible. Set the bar low, then you can walk over it or rest your feet on it while you wait. ;) Constructive criticism always welcome.

Well, let's see! Unfortunately I'm not the best one to ask regarding publicizing yourself (myself). My approach is more like doing what I know, and the word is going to spread organically. It usually does, but not as fast as one would like. But I keep my finger crossed for your experiment.

If it is not as fast as one would like, then perhaps the natural farming approach to self promotion would benefit from a little compost? I suppose it just depends on your stance. All I did was put up something most people will ignore. I too do mostly word of mouth, but I also don't tell people that I can do these things. Now I am just trying to remind myself and others that we can do this sort of thing and being able to do what you love is usually enough, for me at least. But thank you for the finger crossing. oh yeah, random.... Was wondering if you wanted to help me write an article about intensifying the medicinal component of Permaculture and try to encourage gardeners and farmers to start planting perennial medicinals from around the world. First for their own health and access to proven plant/fungi medicines and secondly to anticipate the huge demand for Asian tonic herbs, and other parts of the world. Been taking some adaptogens for a while now and I wish my Permies friends would get in on it because we could literally grow our own magic potions. Rhemannia, He Shou Wu, Rhodiola, Polygala, Albizia Tree, Astragalus (Nitrogen fixer !!!) Ginseng, of course) and Reishi as an end game for plum orchards etc etc etc see where I am going with this????? Lemme know your thoughts... I liked that moment when we realized posts can be edited in the course of a week. I could write something then you copy paste and add or edit as you please and we keep going til we have something bigger than the sum of our parts. I suppose we could both publish it too, though I don;t really have a coherent follower base, so you could actually fair better with it. whaddyathink?

Wow... I'm not quite sure I am ready for this. Authoring a post together, meaning we'd copy-paste back and forth. Sounds a bit like sitting down between two chairs. Let me think about it. Also, I don't think I'm really qualified write about medicinal herbs, as I don't have much knowledge in that field. However, we could include lots of other folks who do, to contribute voluntarily, maybe in form of a type of contest. Okay, these ideas are nowhere to being well developed, more like a brain storm to think about. Interesting suggestion anyway.

yeah I figured I could cover the Medicinal side, but the permaculture applications and refinement of the idea could come from you and others. Maybe I just write it and you can pick it apart or chime in some ideas I might be missing. If people are willing to let Jeruselem artichokes take up a bunch of space in the off chance they need some emergency starches... they could probably work the edges or fill gaps with beautiful flowers that happen to be super valueable if you leave them to grow for a few years. 10 year old Ginseng could be treated like how forested areas are used for retirement or college funds decades later. I'll try to put the idea together soon :) anything is welcome.

Hey @ecoknowme, I left a direct message in the slack group we've chatted in before. I'm still not too fond of co-authoring articles (not saying no, but still gotta warm up to the idea). However, there is another idea about a potential group effort in the brewing. It has to do with a contest, lots of interactive participation, and homestead products to win. In the slack message I wrote more about it, but not the details. They still need to be worked out, hopefully in a group effort as well. :-)

Great, thanks so much. I thnk co authoring might be too direct and misleading. Really I just wanted to voice how much I appreciate your eyes and ears in these departments and more realistically was hoping you could keep an eye out for material that could be improved on, in this case, mine. But since that seems to come naturally, it was a bit redundant. Will check the msgs now... gracias!

Of course, but I think I would do that anyway. Just ask questions or point out that something is not clear, or I'd known otherwise. The first week it's still editable, but even then it's no tragedy: There can always be a follow-up post, by either of us.

Well, I entered the contest with this idea: https://steemit.com/contest/@stortebeker/contest-what-i-would-do-with-50-sbd Take a look and tell me what you think. I guess even if I don't win, it should be possible to organize a producers' ring, or something along those lines.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59908.77
ETH 3191.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43