Please help! Raising money for charity - Lincs and Notts Air Ambulance

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Meet the Lincs and Notts Air Ambulance


Very few of you will know this about me but in my life I've been in, not one, but two serious car accidents. The first one, a car pulled out of a side road, hit my front wing and sent my off the road and into a tree at high speed. The second, I collided with a lorry at 50mph.

That second accident nearly ended my life as I know it. At the scene it was suspected I would never walk again.

On both of those occasions I wasn't met by just any old ambulance, I was airlifted by "the Ambucopter". I know there are similar schemes up and down the country but in Lincolnshire and Nottinghamshire the Ambucopter is the fastest way to hospital and in some cases, the only way.

What people don't often realise is that this isn't a service provided by the NHS, the Government or the Taxpayer. The Ambucopter relies on charitable donations and it costs a whopping £2.5m, two-point-five million to keep it in the air for 1 year.

You can read more about the charity here: http://www.ambucopter.org.uk/

Every day they attend, on average, 2-3 missions. Each mission costs £2'100.

In essence, I owe the charity £4'200.

So why are you going to do about it?


Good question.

Well for a start I'm making this post. I'm calling out to the population of Steemit to help me make this possible. I want to raise as much as I can with this post and donate it to them but I don't want to stop there.

I'm looking for ideas, suggestions and any support available. I'd offer to shave my head, but I do that every week anyway... I'm a little to fond of the beard to shave that off...

Give me some ideas people, what would make you donate, upvote and support this cause?

My aim is to take the money from this post, and if it isn't laughably small, have it made into a nice big pretty cheque and present it to them at one of their events, or maybe at one of their charity shops.

I know it's not glamorous like building huts in Africa or saving kittens but this is important and it's near to my heart. I'm generally not a very charitable man, I'll admit that, but there's a few organisations I would happily go out of my way for.

These guys (and girls) have given me a ride in a helicopter when I needed it most, TWICE, I can't do enough to pay that back!

My commitment


  • All liquid Steem/SBD from this post will be withdrawn and donated to the Lincs and Notts Air Ambulance - no matter how little
  • Any donations sent to me for this charity will also be withdrawn and added to the donation
  • Powering down the Steem Power this post generates will take some time but I'm not doing this to profit personally. I'll sort something out!
  • I will provide proof (photographic or otherwise) of all donations made

I have never raised money for charity on this scale so any advice, help or assistance would be appreciated.

Sort:  

Great stuff! I'd give an upvote but i upvoted too much and i got no voting power left :(

Any help is much appreciated. If you could re-steem it so others can see it that would be "totes amaze-balls" as youth of today say :P

Very worthy cause my man. I will ponder on some ideas to hopefully raise more but in the meantime I will give you my 100% vote, a resteem and a donation to your good self.

Much appreciated sir, I've logged your donation and just so everyone else can see that...

donation-gmuxx.png

My pleasure

Worthy cause. Upvoted and resteemed.

Mucho-appreciado!

You have my vote, but I'm sure it's of little value. I, too, was nearly killed in a car / pedestrian accident. I had the normal road ambulance & thankfully my insurance footed all of the bill for my one and only ride thus far. I am resteeming and hoping that way to lend support to this worthwhile charity. Cheers & good luck. I hope more powerful Steemians jump on this train!

A vote is a vote sir!

Air ambulances provide an essential service and can't get enough support. Resteemed and upvoted.

Agree 100%, having used them twice now (and hoping never to need them again!) I can't be thankful enough for them.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 30. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $23.89 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 30 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Upvoted, resteemed. Hope it helps!

Upvoted and resteemed. All the pennies add up.
Good luck!

You have my thanks, indeed they do and I shall rattle my tin all the harder for the support! :)

Upvoted and resteemed, because I live in Nottingham, and at the rate I'm gaining weight they might need to one day come and airlift me out of bed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54461.78
ETH 2294.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28