A Docu-Story: Raving in the Wild West

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Situated at some remote GPS coordinates in the middle of the Mojave desert was where I would spend my next 24 hours. My adventure partner was my red canine, Nikita she had never been to the desert before.
image

The reason for taking this overnight journey: because, rave lyfe.
What is Rave
Rave is two extremely enjoyable addictions--music and dancing. By definition it is a large dance party where DJs make a seamless flow of electronic dance music.

I'm not exactly sure how my partner feels about the desert or a rave. She only speaks dog, and well, I don't. I do know that the last time I left home for a desert adventure Nikita jumped through the living room window in a failed attempt to locate me in the streets of our town. With that being said, you can see now why she's a part of this thought provoking fact-based testimony.
image

Ravers were permitted to start arriving at 6 PM. The party would start somewhere around 9. We emerged on the scene about an hour before sunset. The temperature didn't give a shit that the sun was setting, it was still a sweltering 115 degrees.
image
Camp still had to be set up before dark. I'm not sure if you had ever been to the desert after sunset but it's comparable to being shut in a coffin: pitch black, scary, and consuming. There has to be more than half a moon for any visibility without some type of other light source.
image

With darkness closing in, I was about done fighting the strongest gust of wind while putting up my gigantic wind resistant tent. Why the hell did I bring the biggest tent I own? Ahh yes,... my canine.

While I was busy losing an approximate 4 pounds setting up camp, Nikita was still asleep from the trip soaking up the AC from the backseat of our sedan.

Shortly after dark, the 30,000 watt sound system and the nights first DJ started to blast that mix of electronic sound and bass. Bum tst bum tst bum tst.
image
I was inside my house-tent getting my dog settled in to keeping an eye on camp when the music started. From a good 200 feet away I can feel the bass throbbing throughout my entire body. It was time to get this party started.
image
I ventured into the madness of the night. Two reasons the desert is an optimal rave location:

  1. The music can be as loud as fuck.
  2. Rave culture has been known to include party drugs.
    MDMA and LSD being the most popular.
    What are they and why them?
    MDMA aka Ecstasy
    Has no medical uses. Primarily used as a recreational drug. Produces increased feelings of euphoria and empathy. It also enhances your senses and will sometimes include mild hallucinations.
    The desert will cause all of these things to happen to oneself on its own time....(if you have the time to spend wandering it).
    image
    Everyone has read or watched a story where someone goes off to spend time in the desert and they "find themselves". These people are indeed living a happier and a more fulfilling life. This is what attracts us to these stories, we want to know what it's like to be there and to be moved in such a magical way.
    This is where MDMA comes in. The proper dose of this drug will allow you to get carried away in feeling the natural powers of the desert and the magnitude of the crystal clear cosmos above you. It permeates the music deep into your soul.
    LSD aka Acid
    A psychedelic drug, most commonly known for inducing hallucinations and altering the perception of time. The hallucinating is more commonly referred to as "tripping", and can last up to 12 hours.
    When the DJ is spinning your favorite beats and the lasers are beaming through the darkness in every direction from the sound booth, acid slows down time and allows you to see the music, taste the lasers, and here the sand dancing in step with you. Sounds magical right? It certainly was.
    image
    After dancing the night away in my part desert part drug induced hours of heaven, the sun would soon be no stranger to the eastern horizon. I felt light as a feather as I floated back to my camp. I cried a tear of thankfulness as I watched the sun rise on the world another day.
    image
    I laid down beside by best pal for some much needed shut eye.
    The sun on a hot tent and a dog that has to pee will not allow for any sleeping in of course. Not to mention that the music is still bumping from the night before. Yes, the music is also 24 hours. Pretty dope shit. We step out of the tent and it's like the party didn't care that I disappeared for sleep.
    image
    My partner and I took a relaxing walk around the perimeter. I knew from the morning heat that we wouldn't be able to stay all day. The heat would be too much for my pooch. We spent the morning meeting fellow ravers, exploring desert life, and of course trying to bury a toy in the sand.
    image
    image
    image
    After a busy morning Nikita enjoyed the last bit of shade as the sun was rapidly climbing the sky. I think it's safe to say that her desert experience was most definitely enjoyable.
    image
    Tearing down camp was bittersweet. I was sad to say goodbye to the brief and magical lifetime I had just experienced, but so thankful to bear witness to a perfect blending of divine natural creation and the incredible musical creation of many talented humans.
    image
Sort:  

Hey @stonerhousewife!
As promised here we are to give you some tips and recommendations regarding your blog.

First of all, the combination of interests is very nice (unique). What might work especially good is the "adventurer" part. Traveling, adventuring, hiking, etc. is very well received on steemit.

Talking about this specific article we're commenting right now, you might improve the following in your next one:

  1. Try to adjust your pictures and don't twist them
  2. Cut these black frames out of the images, even if it takes some time the quality of images will be appreciated by your readers
  3. Try to use cross headings to structure your story, it helps to improve the legibility.

I've just seen that you didn't use the tag #introduceyourself in your first introduction. That one is quite important since a lot of whales (people with influence) check the related trending page and vote for newcomers.

So I'd recommend you to do another introduction where you try to precisely inform your audience about what they are going to find in your blog. Try to point out 2-3 things people might remember. You shouldn't overload it (too much info / too many pictures). Remember that in social media people's attention span is very short, so the shorter the merrier :-)

Last advice: try to use tags that are not used by all of the users. #life and #story, for instance, are tags are used by everybody since they are generic.
Try to stand out in the niches, in areas where you might make it to the top!
Use tags that mirror your story. For this one here for example you should have used the tag "music" intead of "interesting".

Study the blogs from other users that are performing better than you are and try to learn from them. Ask yourself what they do better/differently and then apply what you see. Life is learning and so it happens on steemit :-)

We hope you appreciate our help.
Have a good time here, the rest is unimportant :-)

@steemaniacs - a project run by @surfermarly

That looks like an amazing time! How did you manage to set up camp in that heat?

Sounds like a lot of fun.
Awesome!

It was a most memorable time. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95