Realife stories: how poor stimialiti forced his will upon the milk supply chain

in #life5 years ago (edited)

A week ago I went to buy milk as usual.
[Background:
In recent months I was privileged to buy my milk at a fair price without having to walk for hours in order to do so.
I have more than enough to buy my milk at exorbitant prices at a 3 minutes walking distance from my apartment, but I prefer to not capitulate and buy every item at the cheapest price available in my city.
I need to walk anyway, since I sit too much, and while I do my walks I pick and collect cans and bottles for recycling on which I get paid a little, but enough to buy all my food and then leave me with extra change for other purposes.
Without this habit, I would still have enough to buy food, but why not protect the environment while doing physical activity while doing justice for not capitulating to exorbitant and unjust pricing and letting the cheapest sellers earn while saving money due to buying cheaper while getting paid pocket change for it?
I hate to pay a price while knowing that I could buy the same item cheaper.
If it required more gas or payment for transportation for me, it would have been another story, but I feel good to walk, especially since I usually walk after sunset.
background]
7 days ago, when I got to a conveniently close supermarket in which I just grew accustomed to buying my 1 liter milk bags at 4.5 Sheqels (NIS) per bag, I found to my horror that there are no more milk bags from the brand which I wanted.
I told it to workers of that supermarket, and asked them, until one of the prime cashiers told me that the producers/marketers of that brand decided to cease its distribution im plastic bags, and only sell it in cartons.
I was angry.
I then walked to a nearby supermarket, and asked the same questions there, since the same brand was missing there too in its plastic bags packing.
I was not told the same decisive answer.
Instead, the deputy there told me that he will check the issue for me, which he later did and remembered to show me the outcome.
I decided to temporarily cease my milk consumption until I find it again in a price that I am willing to pay, and later to resume my bidding at a much further store, in which the manager position just changed from a good man whom was rewarded by appointment as a manager much closer to his home, to a bad man, whom was promoted from a deputy manager to a manager.
Later at home, after I bought avocados, bananas and eggs instead of milk, I called the husband of my aunt, whom owns a cowshed and a dairy and asked him 2 questions:
one was if and to what extent he was affiliated/connected/owned that brand which I missed its plastic bags, and second, if he knows about and why did the packaging in milk bags was stopped by that brand.
He answered to me that he does not sell his milk via that brand, but he remembered vividly that he heard in a meeting with them that they intend to ditch the milk bags marketing, and focus on cartons.
I was angry.
I told him the same chain of events which I elaborated here and said that they fucked me and I shall not be fucked.
3 and 4 days later I went to the far supermarket which I described before, in which the manager was changed and bought my milk there at 4.45 Sheqels per liter, 4 liters each day plus avocados and bananas.
Today I found myself with not enough milk for the next time that I wanted milk, and went to retrieve bottles and cans and check for prices.
The deputy whom told me that he will check for me, showed me that the milk bags which I asked about are in the pile, and I thanked him and quickly thought that they may be back also where I used to buy them conveniently and at 4.5 NIS.
I then moved on to that supermarket, found more cans and bottles on my way and added more pocket change to my disposal, and when I checked, I was still happy and partially surprised to find the milk bags which I wanted, at the same price of 4.5 NIS which I paid 9 days prior.
I then bought 6 liters, and returned to my apartment happy to have my convenience back, and not having to walk for over an hour at each direction with so much dust/sand in the air.
Someone above heard me.
If it was due to the manager of one of the supermarket and the deputy of the other, or due to the husband of my aunt, or due to the brand's company observation that their milk sales dropped, or due to some or all of these factors, I not know, but it is a fact that a ditched product was resurrected and returned to where I bought it at the price in which I bought it, and it is a victory for me.
I am not only a big client myself, but I also tell other people to do as I do, and the supermarkets usually buy more than my consumption just because there are more clients and because even I not know exactly how much I will buy, so my effect is slightly bigger than my own consumption, which is already over 3 times the average man's consumption, even if I did not check what the average consumption is.

2018-10-30
I wanted to also use the tag 'real-life'

Sort:  

This user is on the @buildawhale blacklist for one or more of the following reasons:

  • Spam
  • Plagiarism
  • Scam or Fraud

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15