You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: May I “Mansplain” Something for a Minute, Please?

in #life7 years ago

Well, I come from a fading era where men were allowed to be men. I have respect for everyone until they give me reason not to. In this new era I find myself in, I sometimes feel as though I have to think a lil' bit more about what my mind wants my mouth to say :) or I may find myself down in the HR office defending myself over a comment. I grew up with pecking orders in place and believe me I was not top dog by any means. I used to work on a lobster boat up in Bar Harbor Maine pronounced "bah ha bah" by the locals and I can tell you if you're not part of the big corporations who throw classes at you constantly to mold you into a submissive type then out in the "real" world what you speak of absolutely exists. I can remember times men taking it a bit to far and exchange blows until the dispute was settled. After work the two would be having a beer laughing about it. I've been in these situations myself and for me at times this was life as I knew it. Don't be fooled either, there are some really tough women out there as well who can handle themselves better than lots of men do that I've brushed shoulders with in this corporate world. I guess what I'm trying to say is you can't take these aspects out of humans by telling them they "can't" do it or by shunning or making it illegal or can you? There's a whole very different generation that I've awoken to in the last decade very slowly at times and quickly all together that really baffles me. I'm not quite sure what to make of it and somehow I feel as though my comment has some relevance to your post? I could go on and may after feed back. You always make me stop and ponder Mr. King. I'm glad I found you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54166.76
ETH 2272.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34