Babbling bumbling band of baboons! YULE BALL

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Has anyone ever dreamed of attending a ball? Has anyone ever dreamed of attending THAT ball, the Yule Ball in the magical world of Harry Potter, at Hogwarts?

hog.jpg

Yes, I do and I am a huge fan of this fantasy saga and finally I have lived my dream. In Turin, my city, In Italy, this theme ball was organized, with costumes and a magical atmosphere.
And ... because of the theme and because I adore making cosplay and sewing, here I am, in my Hermione outfit ... What do you think about it?

Eli.jpg

For those who do not know, The Yule Ball is a tradition of the Triwizard Tournament in the Harry Potter saga. It is a formal dance on a night and is open by the tournament champions and their partners in the Champions Waltz.
So, this whole atmosphere has been recreated that evening. There was the Sorting Ceremony and duels between wizards ... everyone knew all the lines, it really seemed to be between wizards and witches! Everywhere there were candles, magical maps, potions and spell books ...

FB_IMG_1518615677482.jpg

FB_IMG_1518615688438.jpg

FB_IMG_1518615695096.jpg

The dinner was British-themed, with traditional Scottish and English recipes: for example, welsh rarebit, Scotch egg, savory muffin, chicken pie and mushrooms, coleslaw, maccaroni cheese, roast with gravy sauce and potatoes. The desserts were sherry trifle and brownies.

Schermata 2018-02-14 alle 15.01.53.png

FB_IMG_1518615853857.jpg

Schermata 2018-02-14 alle 15.02.25.png

I have never tasted most of these dishes, some had very different tastes from those we are used to here in Italy. I loved some dishes, like the roast and the pie with chicken and mushrooms, also the desserts, simply fantastic !! And I'm really very greedy :) Others, like maccaroni cheese, have left me a little perplexed...

In the end we danced on the soundtracks of the film ... a magical evening.
Have you ever attended a ball or a theme party?
And above all, are these really the main dishes of Great Britain? I want to know your opinion :)
Waiting for your comments!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69279.67
ETH 3681.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.32