The Meaning of Life

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Imagine for a moment that you were to want to express yourself. To do so, you chose to tell a story. One having meaning based on what you know that will impact the reader so that they can take the lessons of the story with them. So, let's say you have an end-goal in mind.

author.jpg
Source

In order to get there, you must build up the details to paint the picture of the story, as you could not just jump ahead to the end without first explaining the details. After all, how could anyone get anything out of the story if it was any other way? You want to tell a very impactful story; one that literally changes lives.

But there's one little catch. You also want the characters in your story to be able to make their own decisions. They can think. Because you know also of its importance. After all, that is what you do. And you see its value.

These very same characters are the readers of your story. As a result, they know they are in your story. Or at least they suspect. And at times deny. But that's okay, because you know where you want the story to go. You are the storyteller, after all. And so to tell the story, you encourage the characters towards the finale. To do this, to pull the characters towards the end-goal, every single detail is carefully worked, so the characters can make their way back to the precise conclusion of the story, at exactly the right time. You meticulously construct the intricate details that gently guide the characters to realizations that will bring them towards where you ultimately aim for the story to go. After all, you love all the characters equally and pay attention to every detail.

In precisely this place do we find ourselves. Having free will to do as we choose, to think as we choose. And being shown that it is in our personal best interest to do what is best for all.

This is the meaning of life. In the same way as a story has a meaning, where we will interpret what its all about, the story of life's meaning is to do what is best for all. All is a lot. It's not self, it's not family, it's not country, it's not religion, it's not race, it's not species, it's not even Earth or this present moment or any other limited portion; it's All.

And perhaps there is a sequel, when this story's purpose is met, one that only comes out after we all finish the first book.

Part_Two_(AtD).png
Source

My Story

I know things. The so-called "theory of everything", in fact. Which, in all my rush to share my perspective as much as possible, I have missed many things along the way. I don't mean to try to impose on anyone else's free will. After all, it would be a great injustice to the storyteller, who has given me free will, to not take action with the free will of others in mind. But my free will is important to me, too, you know.

limitededition.jpg
Source

I'm just excited. So excited that I don't know how to contain it. I can't do anything but express what I think and feel. My expressions are not flawless or incorporating of every single detail. That is impossible because that's how good the story is. But I know that I know many things; and I know that you can too if you take the time to look at the details and evidence presented. And I know how much knowing those things would change your life. I know it is not my decision to make, but I do know you deserve to be able to make the decision for yourself. Which means you need, first, to be given the option. This is all I've aimed for, to get the information out so people can make their own decisions on it. The reasoning is non-trivial and elaborate.

I know what will happen if you get close enough. I said it before and I will say it again: For it is written in the cosmos. Literally. You will get pulled in. I'm just trying to help. Because I owe it to the storyteller for helping me every step of the way. Who I see is trying to help you too. All of us. How can I not try my best to point it out? Besides, I'm excited to see where it takes us.

Respectfully,
-Steve Scully
My Steemit
My Website
My ~24-hour stream (Twitch.tv) | My ~24-hour stream (Mixer.com) | My Full 24-hour stream (Youtube.com)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57864.58
ETH 2697.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21