On meeting new people on Steemit...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

I'm guessing the first picture here got your attention (guys) and you know what, there's plenty of "eye candy" out there, and if you want to flirt with someone who lives in Poland or Korea, hey, I'm not stopping you. But if you want to make friends on Steemit, people who will read and upvote your posts, and perhaps even follow or resteem posts, you should probably tweak your strategy a little (Note: the above sentence is an understatement)

[Imgur](http://i.imgur.com/n9kJBnu.jp,

Let's try to think clearly here. The young ladies who introduce themselves with a ton of selfies probably aren't going to want to read your technical analysis of Bitcoin, or be interested in your latest novel. To quote a wise man--"One who has unreliable friends soon comes to ruin, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother." (Proverbs 18:24)

When I go to "new" and then "introduceyourself" (which I've been doing a lot lately) I see about 1/4th of the welcoming committee is bots! And I don't think people are reading any of the stuff others are writing in these intros. Instead of treating Steemit as a virtual singles bar, you might want to think a little more like the guy below:

Imgur

Who is your target audience? Are you a writer or artist? Are you a family man/woman? Are you into cryptocurrency (probably if you're here)? Find the people, artists, who are either artists themselves, or who love art! If you're a family man, follow others like you! Write tips and observations about it in posts. Moms, take and post pictures of your family life! Share it.

Think of the "new" and then "introduceyourself" section as the door to Wal-Mart, or as the foyer to your church (my fellow Christians). Go there, and make a good first impression, and look friendly and professional, and be helpful (post a useful "reply" to their intro, one that shows you've actually read some of their post) If you have a LOT in common with the person, then FOLLOW them! They'll probably return the favor because they are new, and looking for friends, but you don't need to beg them to do this if you've given them the dignity of listening to them.

I'll probably do another post on this very topic at some later date, just to drive home the point, but to end on a positive note, I just want to say Try it! Just try it! See if the advice here doesn't help you gain followers. I wish you all the best.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit Mate .. Have great future ahead ... :)

Welcome to Steemit, @steveitt!

Hope you enjoy being here!

This message was written by my introduceyourself bot, but I'm a real user :)

Shall you have any questions, feel free to reply to me. I'll gladly answer your questions :)

Good advice. Not just to gain followers,but to make sure newbies get warmly welcomed.

Welcome to Steemit @steveitt ! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunfarang

LOL! I will be lying if I said that the image didn't attract me to click to see more :P You clickbait motherF xD

Good post bro haha

Well said and well thought out. Good post. Thanks for sharing.

Welcome to steemit hope you enjoy it here!! Followed. Follow me back 😘

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42