You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm Genuinely Curious--What Do Men Actually Expect When They Catcall a Woman?

in #life8 years ago

There's definitely a biological urge. I asked my husband about it when I was writing this, as he used to work in construction in his youth. He said they would get fired for catcalling, but the urge was there. He even said some women would walk by and flash their breasts at the crew. Those were women looking for sex with a stranger, but that's not MOST women. Most women know we have to be wary of strangers in this day and age, because of that "stranger danger" thing. I mean, yes, men we know can be dangerous to us, too. But, we feel more ill at ease around strangers giving us this kind of attention, because we don't know what to expect from them.

I always thought catcalling was just bad manners. But, there is probably a biological urge to do it. I would hope we have evolved enough to find other ways of getting each other's attention, though. If a guy I knew personally catcalled me, I'd think it was fun and cool. But, when a stranger does it, it's creepy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43