You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Much Money Is Enough?

in #life8 years ago

"The more stuff you have, the more it costs to maintain it."

This very much reminds me of what one of my college friends used to say a lot...."If a man owns a couch, he must stay home and sit on it."

He claimed it was based off of some old Chinese proverb, but I've never found it anywhere. It makes sense, though. The more things you have, the more time and money you have to spend maintaining them, and the more obligated you feel to stay at home and use them, because you spent all that money on them.

There's a great sense of freedom when you get rid of things. I'm in the middle of moving, and am currently dividing my things into "keep," "donate," "sell," and "throw away." I used to be really sentimental about keeping things, just because someone important to me touched them once. But, now, I realize things aren't people, and I'm being pretty brutal about what I'm donating, selling, and throwing away. Having fewer things is actually a very freeing feeling.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97