You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Tough Love Or Parental Investment The Best Route?

in #life8 years ago

I wonder how much empathy kids like this will have for other people. Will they understand how blessed they are and be moved to share some of that wealth with the less fortunate? It's okay to be rich, but it isn't okay to be an entitled jerk with no feelings for others, either. Parents of these kids will do best by them, in my opinion, to teach them to not be selfish, and to give back to others who have so much less than they do. If parents of the rich kids can manage to raise decent human beings, whether or not they pay for everything for the kids or not, I think that's all I'll personally ask of them.

Sort:  

I'm with you 100%. I wonder that as well. A lot of them could be stuck up and just think everyone else is poor and stupid while others understand that they are extremely lucky. I understand that I'm extremely lucky. I'm healthy and I have a safe place to sleep every night and don't go hungry. I watched a documentary one time about rich kids and some of them were pretty level headed. One of them went down to the Gulf of Mexico to work on an oil rig. A lot of the guys didn't understand why he would do it but he really wanted to earn people's respect and show that he could do hard work. He also lived in a regular apartment when he was at college when he could have been living in a really nice mansion. There were other kids in the documentary who acted exactly how everyone would fear. Extremely judgmental and the world revolved around them and everyone else was below them. It was a very interesting documentary.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67010.34
ETH 2604.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72