You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If smokers knew the ways that smoking damages their BRAIN...

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I smoked for a about ten years before I decided to quit. I've had a few slip ups that I corrected quickly, but for the most part, I've been smoke free 14 years now. It's a long hard road to quit and it's something you have to work on your entire life if you want to stay smoke free.

One thing I can say for anyone trying to quite - it comes in waves that seem to get farther and farther apart. The first day is hard. Then the third day. Then the 9th. Then it will be 1 month before you get the urge to smoke. Then 3 months, 6 months, 12 months, 3 years, 5 years, 10 years, etc. The urges get farther and farther apart, but they always seem to reappear and it's important to be aware of that so you can expect them and fight them.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing about the waves, Stephen. Great to know they get further apart as time goes on. Do the urges also get weaker?
Congrats on giving nicotine the boot!
Gary

Oh for sure it gets easier. It's just that if you let your guard down and the urge comes back, it's easier to slip up rather than if you are aware that the urge will always come back. It's necessary to always be on guard and never let your brain trick itself into thinking having even one smoke won't lead to more.

Sounds like wise advice to me, thanks Stephen.
Gary

While I think of it, Stephen, you have a highly desirable reputation of 63. What advice do you have for newcomers like myself who want to do well in Steemit? (as in make money by contributing quality content).

Although i can't say i don't earn money here, I'm not a huge earner like some. Just post because you want to and don't think about the money. If you can, hold on to as much steem as you can right now because we could all be the early adopters still. Steem could very well go to $100, $500, $1000, or more.

If you can post every day, do it. I can't say I do but I wish I could. It all adds up quickly if you stay consistent. A lot of the people i joined with (july 2016) are up in the 70s now. Because i don't post every day I sort of fell behind, but I'm okay with that. Actually reputation wasnt always a thing and it came in a few months after i joined.

Hold onto Steem? I've just converted all my Steem to SP. I did that so I can delegate it and get a return on that. Good move or bad? I guess I can always convert SP back into Steem. Looking at your wallet you've got a lot in SP so I take it that's a move you'd recommend.

Oh no SP is great. Especially if you're getting a return on your delegation. To me, Steem and Steem Power is the same thing. Both are worth the same it's just that it takes longer to sell the SP but it's better for the long term. The only reason I hold that steem in there and didn't power it up is for quick sells to buy other crypto currency fast or if I want to buy something with steem. I know that this years Steemit Silver Coin is going to be available soon so I will most likely use my steem to buy some of those. Last year I had to time it so I was powered down enough in time to buy some. This year, I'm prepared to buy some, but can still power down a little more if I want to get a few extra silver rounds. Once those come out, I'll be powering back up most of what's left. And I also will sell all my SBD for Steem/SP when the time and price is right.

Assuming these SMT's come out and there are communities created on steemit this year, Steem could easily go to at least $50, if not more, I hope.

Great. I am appreciating our chat here, Stephen.
Who do you delegate to, if I may ask? And why?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63280.44
ETH 3253.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89