Women and lifting weights

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_20170627-033239.png

I have had a love/hate relationship with fitness for the last ten years. I deal with extremes. I can be extremely fit or extremely lazy. I will work hard enough to drop weight I've put on but won't work hard enough to achieve what I once had because I just dont have the passion. I do, however know what i'm talking about.

One thing I've heard for years and want to address, is the belief that women lifting weights will "make them bulky." I have spent years and years trying to get " too big." I'm here to tell you, weights don't make you big. If you're doing nothing but cardio to lose weight you need to take a step back and reevaluate your game plan.

Cardio is great and can shed a lot of lbs, but lifting weights mixed with cardio is ideal for shedding the extra fat. If you aren't lifting, EATING, and supplementing to get big, you're not going to. A mix of a heatly diet LIFESTYLE, not crash diets, of 5 to 6 small meals a day will keep your metabolism going. Add in a balanced workout schedule of weight training and cardio will give you calories burned and calories CONTINUING to burn. Weight training burns calories for a far longer period of time compared to cardio. In addition, 1 lb of lean muscle will burn 50 addition calories per day doing absolutely nothing.

Weights are not your enemy ladies. Draw a bath, light some candles, and pull out the ole cell phone. Research the amazing benefits of adding weight training to your routine. It's time to stop fearing the weights and start getting the body you want and deserve!!

Sort:  

Oh my yaaaas. Preach please. 👐 i couldn't agree more. Half the time I try not to get into discussions with people about lifting weights unless they're ready to buckle down and get serious about what I have to say. Seesh!

Hey ive fluctuated weight more than most. I can gain and lose 30 lbs before most people lose 10. But I know my shit. Motivation can be hard to come by, but if youre motivated why not suck up the pride and do it the right way. 🙄

Yesss. You can't beat science. It'll win 9/10. Hahah.

You live in Oregon? I wrestled there last summer. Went hiking up by the falls. It was gorgeous out the day we went

Yaaaas! I've been here for about 5 years after I graduated high school in Wyoming. I got to say though, the weather is 10 times better here and there's so much more to do! Where are you from?

Just kidding. You're from Florida. Read your first post. Hahha. I'm jealous! I'm the weather is amazing there a good 8/10 when they're not hurricanes. Amiright?

Bahaha. I wouldnt say good. May not be as rainy as i hear it is there. But its rained here almost every day for a month. And 95 with high humid so the "feels like" temp is 105-110 is far from nice. It's like standing in a steam room. Winter is nice when it's like 60s during the day and forties at night but the last few years we've gotten almost no winter. It was 58 one day when I was in Oregon and I had my shirt off. If it's in the 50s here the moisture in the air burns your skin

😩😳 well when you put it that way, i don't want to be in a sauna all day, everyday. Yughhh. Plus, I like my skin plump and alive. So maybe Florida isn't for me. Hahaha

nice post most people, don't actually value what they have. some even listen to wrong information that is why they get the wrong result.

Theres so much misinformation out there. I've lost a bunch since feb but been stuck because i'm not eating often enough. 5-6 small meals with do more than 2 or 3 meals. Theres so much quality info out there. Starving and doing only cardio is the worst thing people can do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70287.75
ETH 3955.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66