Health scare

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_20170703-221517.png

Yesterday I experienced one of the scariest moments in my life. May 13th I lost a dear friend to a pre-existing heart condition. With that event fresh in my mind I was at dinner with friends last night. I had less than two drinks with dinner. As we were paying, I started feeling extremely nauseous and told my friends I was going to go sit in the car with the AC running. As I was making my way to my car I began feeling extremely light-headed and was struggling to stay on my feet. It was very similar to when you stand up too quickly and see spots. My hands and legs were shaking very badly and I was struggling to stay conscious. I closed my eyes and reached out for the metal railing just two feet away so as not to fall over. Of course the only thing on my mind was what happened to my friend and I was absolutely terrified that if I lost consciousness I wouldn't regain it ever again. As I was pulling my phone out debating on calling 911, a couple came and checked on me. I explained the situation and let them know that I had not been drinking besides the 2 while eating. They went and got my friends and a glass of ice water as I sat there attempting not to panic. After pouring ice water on my neck and resting for a couple minutes I felt much better and thanked the couple for their help. As I made my way to my car I began feeling a little light-headed again. My friend offered to drive and I poured more water over my neck and blasted the AC as high as it could go. By the time we got to my friends house I felt perfectly fine and over the next hour drank about 4 bottles of water. I had no further issues that evening and today have felt completely fine. This was however a very scary experience and I have scheduled appointment with my primary on Wednesday. It disappoints me so much the healthcare situation in the country. I have insurance but even with insurance an ambulance trip and an overnight stay is going to cost me around 7 to $8,000. The prices of certain Health Care procedures are so astronomical at times that it makes people second-guess even going to check on issues. I was trying my best to not have to call an ambulance because the only thing I could think of besides oh my gosh I could be dying was oh my gosh what if there's nothing serious wrong and how much is this going to cost. Obviously my health is much more important than money but the fact that that is even a question in people's mind, including my own, is sickening. So many times people lose their lives due to being afraid of credit and money issues with health care. I will keep everyone posted as to how my appointment goes on Wednesday but if you take anything from this don't be like me, if there's any question in your mind that something serious is happening don't worry about the money. Money and credit situations can be fixed. Once you're dead you're dead. After talking to a couple friends in the medical field it sounds like I was dehydrated and perhaps having a heat-related incident as the humidity is very high right now in Florida. I will be seeing someone about this particular issue just to be on the safe side. I wish everyone a very safe and happy 4th! And those interested please feel free to check in in a few days as I will post a follow-up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68498.38
ETH 3905.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66