What If Today Was Your Last day?

in #life6 years ago

''If today were the last day of your life, would you want to do what you are about to do today?''
-Steve Jobs

38223894_361661781034512_297291855203139584_n.jpg

I've always found it important to keep in mind the fact that life is finite.
Life always comes down to a matter of perspective, and keeping our own mortality in mind is a great idea to remember, in order to play ours cards right.

Jim Collins created the ''stop doing list'', and here is how he got inspired to come up with this idea.

Today, let's pretend you receive two life changing calls.
The first one being that you get 20 million $, no strings attached.
The second call informs you that you have 10 years left to live, as you are caught up with an incurable disease.

Now, the question is: ''What would you do differently and, in particular, what would you stop doing?''

Fascinating concept, eh?
There are various ways to create a life worth living.
The first thing that comes to mind for me is to develop our own sense of purpose.
In order to do so, we first need to find our values, which will then enable us to connect with them.
Make a list of the values that you want to live by in your life.
Authenticity, acceptance, kindness, growth, empathy, respect, playfulness, love, are some of mine.
Once a particular situation that catches you off guard happens, you can go back to your list and find the best way to react, according to those values.

The thoughts in our mind creates our story.
When we believe the false narratives in our head, it can unconsciously set the stage for us to react by using unhelpful coping mechanisms. They are always unconscious, unless we bring them to our awareness, hence why most of the time they will be automatic. It's part of our survival instinct, as our mind strongly dislikes to tolerate discomfort.
However, sometimes, a bit of discomfort is just what we need in order spark change.

6a558f1f17a41422a13989626740f28c.jpg

If today was your last day, what would you spend your time Doing?
What would you spend your time Being?
Would you see the world through new eyes?
Who would you forgive?
Where would you go?

It now marks 10 years since Nickelback came up with the well known single ''If today was your last day''.
Here's one lyric he says:
'' You know it's never too late to shoot for the stars, regardless of who you are.'' 💫 💙
In this light, you may ask yourself how you can enrich your life in ways you would have never dreamed possible.

There's no denying it, someday, will really be our last day.
But what if we commited to live as if everyday could be our last moment on earth?

If you really want a little motivational push, Gary Vee will give it to you on that one video.
(Too bad he doesn't mention the odds of becoming a human being in this one.
In case you were wondering, he claims they are 400,000,000,000,000 to 1 😉)

"If anybody ever did it, you can too."

Living each day as if it was our last is the best way to put it.
Because we will only put our focus on the things which really matter.
We will avoid the stupid meaningless fights.
We won't waiste our time complaining about the mundane day to day issues that come up.
Before saying something, we ought to ask ourselves if what we are about to say matters, or if it brings value to the other person.

Studies have shown that individuals who experience trauma may change them for the better.
For some, it really is a transformative experience, as difficult the trial may have been, because afterwards, they see the world with new eyes.
They may be thankful for the little things, as they came close to lose it all.
But the only thing which have changed about themselves is: Awareness.

images (1).jfif

Do you truly feel yourself in the work you are doing every day?
You can even dig deeper within, and ask yourself if you'd do it, even if you weren't getting paid for it?

38023150_361718817695475_1901612133402017792_n.jpg

I always find to each of my day three parcels of happiness.
Here is one of yesterday's.
Eating my favorite carrot cake in the beautiful nature🍰🌄😍

38282079_360905137776843_2668085305487130624_n.jpg

Have an amazing thursday loves !! 💟

Sort:  

That would suck. lol

If I had unlimited wealth and only 10years to live, I would stop working and start traveling.

First travel through my own country, do all the exciting stuff there is to do and see all the beautiful places there is to see. Don't know how long that will take, but I think there moght be a few years left to travel the rest of the world.

O yes and just because I have unlimited wealth, why not take a few friends with?!

Wow nice!!!
I love it🤩
Do you live in South Africa? 🇿🇦:)

I don't worry about my "last day" and I live with no fear of it. For no one who believes that Jesus Christ is the Son of God shall perish. Our souls are eternal and there is a place created for us.

So I live my life the same, and I fear nothing not even my "last day".

Fuck I love you already lol!
I believe the same man.
Our souls will never die.
They will carry on till our next journey!
One love @titusfrost

It's a fascinating question to ask!

Surely I wouldn't be doing exactly what I am right now. I'd jump to do all the things that truly matter and make me happy. The funny thing though, is that as we age our acquired wisdom helps us to better understand this message.

For me, at least, I've made some incremental steps in just that last year alone, toward my living like it was my last day new life.

Cheers! You're awesome!

Awnn thanks so much babe!
You’re awesome yourself!😘
Love everything that you just said!
Cheers back to my favorite steemian💗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58416.09
ETH 2514.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34