We are only human

in #life7 years ago

''My scars reminded me of where I've been. Your scars reminded me of just how perfect you really are.''

18222436_157188181481874_2326846977211030399_n.jpg

Stigmatize me. Judge me. Misunderstand me. Gossip about me. Hate me. No matter what they do to me, I will always remain kind, committed to love and free in my authenticity. Not everyone has my heart. Not everyone went through what I went through. I am not perfect, nor do I strive to be. However, I am alive, standing on my two feet. I have a lot of scars but I’m proud to wear them because they have a story to tell. They remind me that I am unique and that I am stronger than I’ve ever been in my entire life. Another concrete example to illustrate this fact would be the moon. It is full of craters and of holes, yet the moon has always been associated with beauty. Your scars make you beautiful.

ffff.png

Mental illness is misconceived by society. We often suffer in silence and are left alone because our illnesses are not physically visible. We are blamed as if we want our misery. But let me tell you one important thing: mental illness is never a choice. And my goal in this world is to make society understand the roots of our illnesses and to end the stigma behind it. We need to stop perpetuating these false stereotypes. As long as we will keep on using these psychiatric labels, we will be suffering, while they benefit from it. Don’t let them label you as “weak”. Let me tell you that if anything, we are the strong ones, because living life with a mental illness takes so much inner strength and courage.

Traveling through the other side of depression, there’s a sudden realisation that the end of the tunnel, the road to recovery, is achievable. Six months ago, I decided to break the cycle. I decided that each day was not going to be a fight. Each day is going to be a victory because I choose not to give up. Your mental illness does not determine what kind of person, parent, student, lover you are capable of being. Don’t let it stop you from pursuing your dreams.

sad223 (2).jpg

We are not any different than you are. At the end of the day, we are all human beings. Each one of us is fighting a human battle on a different level. We should not be treated with ''caution''. We should be treated with love, dignity and respect. In order to shut down all of the myths, stereotypes and false beliefs, we need to educate ourselves on the topic and encourage others to do so. The way we speak and talk about mental health has a big impact on the way other people will view it. It is essential to challenge what we hear, and especially coming from the media.

Language is one powerful tool, that can be used in a helpful way.
Shift your perspective, and don' t let the clinical terminology define who you really are.
You are not someone with ' ' depression that has a shitty behaviour and awful self-destructive thoughts'' .
You are someone with ' ' a serious illness that will get better' ' .

Love you guys! Thanks for reading! Let the light guide the way! ➟ 🌠

Sort:  

Really powerful and thank you for sharing and being vulnerable. We all struggle, but everyday is a victory! :) Well said.

Awww youre so sweet! Thank you for your positive comment:)
Very true, we are all victors! xoxo

Very strong words, Sabrina 💪👏

Coming from you, I couldnt feel more special! Thanks so much !:) @milansteskal

beautifull and profound words @steemityourway :) you are truly a superhero to all those who are scared or ashamed of accepting their mental illness and also to yourself for not giving up :)

Wow your comments always make my day😍😘😭 thank you so much !!!! You're the sweetest!💚💫

the fact that we all have our scars and weaknesses makes us beautifull as human beings. love your post. started following and up voted

Thank you so much! 😘💎

keep up with your posts

God bless you.

I have had a tough week on here, so I do not have much in the tank most of the last few days here to say much.

This post was undervalued.

God bless you for this. Honestly

Nite my friend.

Wow that means so much Barry!!💗😘💜 thank you so much! You're the best. I'm sorry this week didn't go too well. It's a tough world babe. Tough love too. Hang in there💙 Better days are yet to come. The emu will always root for you🙊🙈😏💫🖤 @barrydutton

"We are blamed as if we want our misery."
You hit the nail on the head with that line. I know exactly how you feel. What's more frustrating is when people tell you that you're fine, whether suffering from anxiety or depression, when deep inside it's a daily struggle of silent pain.

Wow oh my god thanks for quoting me haha I feel a bit cool🙈😍💜 love that line too as it represents the stigma so well. You said it all man. We need to break the silence. Thanks so much !! @drakos :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01