Understanding the depth of your suffering

in #life6 years ago

'' All the gods, all the heavens, all the hells, are within you.'' -Joseph Campbell

47578114_639457969789996_5480534632275378176_n.jpg

Pain is an inherent part of human existence.
No matter the path one chooses to follow, the road will be paved with suffering.
It is inevitable.
We have free will to decide if and how we wish to process the pain.
We can seek help from others along the way, whether that'd be from therapy, friends or family.
However, at the end of the day, no one can do the tough work for us.
It's our battle and ours only to choose what we will do with the pain.

Something happened this week and it made me think quite a bit.
It wasn't something big, but it still made me want to write it down in my reframing journal.
I chose to write down inside my journal what I would have liked to say to the person who tried to inflict me harm rather than say it to the person.
It asked a little bit of self-control to not act on the spur of the moment.
But then it hit me.
I'd be feeding the negative energy of this person if I would have chosen to respond back.
Would that do any good?
Probably not.
It may sound silly if you have never done it, but it's actually a very liberating and therapeutic exercise to write down a letter to someone who has hurt you, while pouring your heart out completely as you write it.
When finished, you can burn the letter, tear it apart, whatever way you like, and then only will you release the past.
Humans have a tendency to let the hurt build up inside.
You can only choose to do it for long enough.
Check in with yourself often enough to make sure that your heart is free from negative emotions.💟
We may not consciously realize it, but carrying hate in our heart doesn't hurt anyone else but ourselves.

Absolutely love this quote!
So much wisdom and truth in it!💜🔮💜
Everything changed for me the day I fell completely in love with myself.
Life has never been as beautiful.
I love my inner child with all I have, and no one can take that love away from me. 💖

47580068_301972913753337_7270916398430289920_n.jpg

Our prime purpose in life is to learn and grow.
That is something that never stops, no matter our age.
Most types of suffering come to us as blessings in disguise.
Sometimes it may take years to be able to see what good was to be found in the midst of chaos, but eventually, most things in life end up making sense.
And look Imma be real with you, the day I feel that it won't, I'll be bold enough to admit defeat.
All I know is that despite my soft soul, I'm one heck of a soldier, and I'm not afraid to step in the mud, even when the odds are stacked against me!
I'll take unpopular decisions my whole life if that's what feels right to my values.
What can stop a Sabrina? 😉
You tell me!

One love you guys! 💚 💚

47428260_1936411203143185_5682512281187909632_n.jpg

Sort:  

Sorry for your pain. :(

You're a sweetheart!
💜💜💜

Very wise not to respond back. I find that very frequently the most negative people frame their world with them as the victim; so a response back would 'victimize' them further and result in an escalation that they incorrectly perceive as 'justified'.

Thanks to @paradigmprospect, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

awwww well said!
and you're too sweet!!!! Thanks so much, that means a lot to me!💚😚

Aye, great reminder. I have often written my frustration down only to see they had dissolved by doing so. I found that this prepared me way better for the next meetup with the invidual in question, allowing me more eloquence in pointing to my issue, rather than impulsively defending myself and projecting blame out of the ehat of the moment.
I also dig your reframe diary idea. Holy sh** ;)

Wow!
What an awesome feedback!😍
hahaha it's the way to go, I'm telling ya!! 😏

you also told the others, you never know who may pick up a lifechanging piece of insight here and there right? ;)

haha you're awesome I love it!!

Good on you!
And you sound reasonably positive regardless...

I think actually a physical journal will help people deal with their negativity and pain from people or within as well....keeping thoughts written somewhere is a great way of dealing with them

Thanks for post

Thank you very much for your sweet words @towjam 😚😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84