4 Weeks Without Facebook – And So Much More Clarity

in #life6 years ago

''When life gets blurry, adjust your focus. ''

yel1.jpg

Happy Thursday loves! ✩ 💜 ✫
I hope this post finds you happy and well. ✨

So today marks 4 weeks since I deactivated my Facebook account.
In all honesty, I kinda forgot.
It became my new normal pretty quickly, and I’ve been enjoying every second of it!
I would have gladly completely suppressed it, but I still use messenger as a backup, as of now.
Almost 5 months ago now, I suppressed my Instagram, and I knew I eventually wanted to suppress all social media I used.
Well now that this goal is taking place, I can not tell you all the positives it has brought into my life.

I have attained the highest level of clarity I’ve ever been able to reach.
The kind of clarity that can save one a life!
Not to mention that without any of these addictive apps, I have had way more time to truly ''Know Thyself''.
pema.jpg

I’ve never been really caught up with the whole comparison game, but I can tell anyone that once you live a life offline, your own self-evaluation differs completely than if you are active on social media.
When I reflect on my self, the last thing I think of is comparing myself to others who are not on my life journey.
But unfortunately, social media has the tendency of making our mind undisciplined, and pulls on us a distorted sense of self.
Whether we are aware of it or not, when you’re caught up in that game, you end up having a hard time to distance yourself from what you see.
We end up taking what we see as all there is.
We sometimes fail to look beyond the superficial pictures.
We mistake them as solid interpretations of reality.
We forget that social media is a performance.
That it is not real.

It’s kinda hard to take on a wider perspective when you try to keep up with the Joneses.
Social media is the enemy of mindfulness, because it reinforces our autopilot mode.
We don’t consciously ask ourselves to check our phones when we do it. It’s out of pure habit.
And so we do it during the day, ten times, sometimes fifty, and I wouldn’t be surprised if it reached a couple hundred.
Social media is the best way to get distracted.
It’s not for nothing that we are hooked on it.
It literally sends us small doses of dopamine.

The journey to self-acceptance becomes extremely easier once we are able to put our finger on the things that blocks us.
Social media can be a big one, since it inevitably makes people become envious of others.
But the truth is that doing so is a losing game.
You will never win if you compare yourself to anyone out there.
There will always be someone who does it better, or has more of this, and less of that.
Even worse, studies have shown that it doesn't only bring down the people who come out on the short end.
Needless to say, it would be a waste of the person you are to wish you were any different.
It is not for nothing that the highest levels of self-acceptance are corelated with the highest levels of happiness.
Once you use self-compassion and unconditional self-acceptance toward yourself, it changes the whole game of life.✮🔮💫

yes1.jpg

Sort:  

Oh so that's why you haven't messaged me. ;) lol

maybe🙊🙊🙊

Congrats! I wrote a think piece about how I think facebook is a drug: https://steemit.com/social/@bywaterlabs/facebook-is-an-addictive-harmful-drug

Wow that’s awesome!!
Will go check it out thanks:)!!

Social media is turning into Associate in Nursing integral a part of life on-line as social websites and applications proliferate. Most ancient on-line media embody social elements, cherish comment fields for users. In business, social media is employed to plug product, promote brands, hook up with current customers and foster new business.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87