For here or to go?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I have been told that North America is world famous for grab and go coffee. As a matter of fact, my French pals would get so offended if I decided to have my java to go. They would verbally ‘accuse’ me for not knowing how to enjoy life while physically 'restrain' me to sit and not go anywhere. 100% of the time, they would only sit to enjoy this delicious hot beverage.

I don’t know that many French people to confirm, but all my French pals literally ‘dislike’ or dare I use the word ‘hate’ the ‘to-go’ coffee culture. I have been told and I quote 'This whole to-go coffee culture is not a civilized culture and it's bull-shit and we French people don't roll like that.'

Even after using some strong and angry words, they would insist that they are not upset, they just get very 'emotional’ when it comes to people who take their coffee to go. Funny thing is they could talk about this 'dislike' for hours, weeks and months and over and over and over and over again. And, for the record, it's not like we are meeting up for coffee or anything. It's just that we happen to frequent the same coffee shop, around the same time, and I am always visiting on my own.

For me, I make a decision of whether to stay or to go solely on my mood and I don't let any so called 'civilization' to 'dictate' what I wanna do with my own cup of coffee! There are times I would be in the mood to sit and enjoy my java, and perhaps do some reading, people watching or just simply day dreaming. But, there are also times I would prefer to go for a long walk, along with my beloved coffee, to explore the city. To me, that’s enjoyment of life too.

So, here is me, enjoying a sit down coffee and a to go coffee:

Really, how to enjoy your cup of coffee is a very personal matter. The most important question is do you know what you want? Some people struggle with the question ‘for here, or, to go?’, but not me. To enjoy life to the fullest, I always go with my current mood. Oh man, If you get what your heart desires at that moment, that’s pure enjoyment.

Everyone has the freedom to choose the way they wanna live their lives. Some like to live an on-the-go lifestyle, and hey, if that makes them happy, who are we to judge? Having a coffee to go is not a crime, I am happy to see people seamlessly integrate hot beverages into their fast paced lives, and so be it.

To me, to enjoy life is to take it easy and not get overly upset ... ( Oops, I just committed a crime by using the wrong word. I really meant ’emotional'. A big difference, I was told ) ... about other people’s business or lifestyle.

Stay cool and stay chill, folks, that might be the secret to good life!

Sort:  

I'm with you! Both sit down and to go coffee are enjoyable.

well said and don't let anyone tell you what to do

Cheryl and I seem to have the private coffee thing going. Its like drug consumption is best done quietly. Is that from growing up under the Nancy Reagan / Bush 1 regime?

I concur. There were times in my life best suited to sit in leisure and treasure the time to read and write, to watch the weird and the wired roll by. Then I came to the age of copilot coffee, running from here to there with a rapidly cooling cup of joe. Now I get to work early, sit on my lunchbox and enjoy a hot tea with sunrise. As life's order changes, so does my go-to brew. Lovely post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64911.06
ETH 3194.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60