Fika is so freaking cool !!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

One of my favourite areas in Toronto has got to be Kensington Market located near China Town. It is literally the dream place for foodies due to its colourful restaurant and market scenes. Once in awhile, I love to check out the latest cafes before I groceries shop at the health food stores and markets.

There is one cafe I would like to recommend and it is Fika. Interesting name, eh?! So, what does Fika mean? It is actually a Swedish word and it means ‘to have coffee’. I started using this word whenever I’m inviting friends or colleagues out for coffee. Yeah - They think I am ‘nut’ of course.

Fika is located in a Victoria home filled with light. Its Scandinavian decor is particularly appealing to me. It is such a perfect place to sit and read a book, you won’t even notice the hustle bustle outside. Just check out that wall, in the back room, lined with old books. Quite a statement! I just love everything about this place, including the logo, how adorable is that?!

IMG_20160409_105439.jpg

IMG_20160409_130621.jpg

IMG_20160409_130517.jpg

They also serve some exceptional hot beverages and homemade pastries, Swedish style, of course. Their cardamon spiced latte and scone were so delicious! They even have Lavender White Hot Chocolate, which I am definitely gonna try next time as I love anything Lavender.

Hmmm, I think I am going to invite some friends to fika soon !!

Sort:  

@steemit-foodie I have many times been "bjuden på fika", and it is exactly what I imagine when the British talk about "tea". Sure, there is coffee or tea, but more often it is accompanied by open face sandwiches and sweet bread.

Man, now I really wanna fika...

@chefcryptoshark - nice, open face sandwiches sound great... oh sweet bread too. Why do I love to eat this much?!Just talking about food makes me happy (^_^)/

Sounds lovely, will have to check it next time I hit up TO. Thanks for the share.

Hey @bleedpoet - You're welcome!!

I find it really cool that you make us visit with you great local places from your home base in Toronto! It's definetly useful for those of us who are planing on going there in the future! Keep it up! Love this!💫💗

This place looks great - love the book wall! What an interesting take on a bookshelf :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60097.61
ETH 3373.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51