We Wonder Why.....

in #life7 years ago

WE WONDER WHY:
I have remained pretty quiet about the events taking place in our nation since the election to enable myself to focus on my family and then allow myself some quiet moments to gather my thoughts and emotions. During this time I have pondered the impending doom scenarios, the "who cares" and "just forget about it" positions. And then, in an unexpected encounter, it came to me; WE DON'T TALK ANYMORE! Sure we say the enthusiastic "How are you's" and the empty ramblings about the kids or weather and hustle on to our next destination. This encounter I mentioned occurred this morning as my wife was leaving to pick up my daughter. I noticed my neighbor come out and sit on her porch for a quick smoke and thought I would just plop down beside her and talk. I went in the house plugged my phone into the wall (so I wouldn't be distracted by my electronic siamese twin) and then went outside to find her hustling back into her house. I had missed my opportunity. I was deflated for a moment and then proceeded to connect back to the matrix. NO! THIS IS WRONG! I have no idea why some beautiful people that I know could see Candidate X to be better for our future than Candidate Y! I want to be open to the thoughts and fears and emotions of other human beings! I yearn to see the world through their eyes! But instead...We wake up, put on our skins, punch the clock, shuffle the kids to all of the places that are supposed to make them better people, hustle into our domiciles, find some sustenance, plug into the matrix, recharge, and do it again the next day and the next. We miss out on community, understanding, real human interaction, empathy....love for your neighbor. I believe (and I really don't know shit) that if we are ever going to truly understand eachother, if we are ever going to be able to listen above the noise, we have to plug in, yes....But we have to plug back in to HUMANITY. Just a thought.

Sort:  

Congratulations @steemeupscotty! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60787.40
ETH 2994.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82