Becoming a Father: How it changed my life for the better

in #life6 years ago (edited)

IMG_3078.JPG

Becoming a father was one of the greatest things that ever happened to me.

Each child of mine holds a special place in my heart. I cherish all of the moments that I get to spend with each of them. Sure, the majority of my time when I get home from work is spent changing diapers, feeding in high chairs, giving baths, doing homework, FaceTiming my twins that don't live with us, coloring pictures, and making late night runs to the drug store when someone gets a fever or a tummy ache. Yes, it is a lot of work. By the end of each night I am exhausted. Honestly, I would not want to spend my nights doing anything else. The truth is, I genuinely love being a father. It's my passion, I truly enjoy it. My number one focus and first priority is helping these little ones learn and grow. My hope is that one day they will be able to spend similar special moments and make their own precious memories with their own children, too.

It seems as though I rambled off a list of chores.. but honestly, to me, those things aren't chores, they are opportunities. They are opportunities to have a pure little heart to look up to me more and more each day. I can honestly say that there is nothing in this world that can compare to the feeling that comes along with being the protecter when they are scared, the band-aid when they are hurt, or the reason for that cute little giggle when you walk into the front door. Some people might say that they prefer to never have children. I don't think anyone is qualified to make that statement until they have felt the grasp of those little hands around their finger, or in that moment you realize that you are truly somebody else's everything.

Of course I don't do this all alone. I have to give so much credit to my amazing wife @kenzi-paq for working so hard from the moment she wakes up, until that last kid falls asleep.

I just wanted to write something to explain how thankful I am and how blessed I feel to be their father.

The photo above is a picture of my youngest child and I. She is the happiest baby girl. She lightens up my life. I found this poem online and hopefully when she is old enough, she will read it and know see how much I love her.

Walk a little slower Daddy

"Walk a little slower, Daddy!" said a little child so small.
"I'm following in your footsteps and i don't want to fall.

Sometimes your steps are very fast, sometimes they're hard to see;
So walk a little slower Daddy, for you are leading me.

Someday when I'm all grown up, you're what i want to be.
Then i will have a little child who'll want to follow me.

And i would want to lead just right, and know that i was true;
So, walk a little slower, Daddy, for i must follow you!!"

Source: https://www.scrapbook.com/poems/doc/5732.html

Stay tuned for more about my beautiful family and I, that I am so thankful for.

-steemengines

steemengines_blue.png

Sort:  

I can really feel and understand how it feels to be a father...... loved reading your post..... lovely poem.....lots of love to all your kids.....have a happy life.

Thank you for your kind words and thank you for taking the time to read my post.

You are always welcome ☺️ have a great day ahead

Waawww congratulations sir ! I believe my friend will be a good father
I want it to him God willing Healty ! and Happy ! <3
I congratulate you again

What you sweet very nice the top photo

Thank you, she is a sweet heart!

Oh this is soo lovely..well said brother its different sort of feeling which only a father can feel.

Thank you for encouraging comments, and thank you for the support.

Becoming a father and experiencing parenthood has been one of my life's joys as well. It is one of the most unselfish things you do. To care for a child and raise him or her to the best of one's abilities.

Congratulations!

It truly is. We are very blessed as Fathers to guide and watch our kids grow.

being a father is amazing. Everything can change by itself

Yes it is! :)

cute baby girl 😍

Thank youuuu!

How many children do you have? Would be nice if you post a group photo of them. This one is really cute. How old is she? I think, less than 1 year.

You got a 19.36% upvote from @ipromote courtesy of @steemengines!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Very lolipop baby.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64928.52
ETH 3525.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36