Self IdentitysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

We exist as an "identity" in our minds. It starts with our name, our gender identification, our sexual orientation, what race/tribe/family we are apart of, and then it builds from there through experiences. Eventually we form personal identity boundaries based on the pleasure or misery of our past experiences. For example someone might say, "I do this, but I don't do that" based on their past experiences. "That's just who I am," he or she would say.

IMG_3375.JPG

The concept of who we are, or our self identity, that we build over time provides a framework for us to operate within in an otherwise wild and scary world. So creating it can help us feel safe, and is somewhat a necessity. BUT, when we start to hunker down and attach so tightly to the identity we have created it can begin to function not as a structure and an order within which to operate in a scary world, but instead as a confinement. As in walls. As in rigidity. As in lots of rules and restrictions we place on ourselves based upon past experiences, and anticipated results we are now trying to avoid based on those past experiences. In other words the walls we build for safety and protection can end up boxing us in and closing us off to opportunities and to the flow of life.

For example, my mother used to serve me Lima beans as a kid. I hated those Lima beans. She rarely forced me to eat anything I really did not like, but I recall not being allowed to leave the table until I ate my damn Lima beans. 😣 The texture and flavor of these beans was nasty as hell to me. So, I learned how to swallow them whole. No texture. No taste. Down the hatch. Excused from the table. Done ✌🏾The problem is that from that yucky childhood experience, I still carry "I don't eat Lima beans" around with me as part of my identity to this day, 40 years later. I'm a grown-ass-adult who loves most vegetables, and yet I still avoid those beans because they are part of my story! I identify as someone who doesn't eat those beans because of what happened to me in my past experience.

Why am I still choosing to carry that negative story around as part of who I am today? What if I could let that go and try the beans today? And if I still don't like them, would that the the end of the world? No. I would just know what is true for me NOW vs carrying around a heavy load of bullshit rules like, "I eat or do this, but I don't eat or do that."

What if we dropped even larger parts of our story beyond what we eat? What would happen if we just let it go of the labels, the aversions, the accomplishments, the failures, the relationships we think we have to maintain? What if we released our grip on the roles we cling to...like our roles as the hero or the victim? Letting go of that stuff we built up around us for safety, but that may have slowly become very confining unbeknownst to us?

IMG_3363.JPG

What would your life be like if you let go of your story...your walls?

Sort:  

Great topic, thx for the Post! I think we have to keep in mind that change is the only constant in life. The world is changing, the people around us are changing, we are changing ourselves. So our identity changes as well. We try to hold on to the status quo and keep up old walls, but that is not healthy and will fail in the long run..

Oh yes! Such a good point. We are always constantly changing and cause ourselves problems when we get attached to maintaining past versions. Great comment, thank you

Exactly :) thanks for the reply

Well written.

I think we are constantly changing, well I know I am. As we change our views through knowledge our whole outlook and the way we act changes. If myself from 20 years ago saw me now he would probably laugh, but be intrigued. I say this because the older you get (or I) the more I realise I am me not what others perceive or want me to be. So I think my 16 year old self probably would like my outlook now but at the same time feel he could not break down the walls surrounding him. I wish he did because my life would have been a lot easier and well I be a lot further along my path :)

Thanks and I agree...if we seek to grow and expand then we are likely to dramatically change over time. Not everyone does seek such growth or tolerates a lot of change. Many fight very hard to hold onto to their old ways and long held sense of self.

I like to think my 16 year old self would be proud of who I am today. I am probably not what she would be expecting, but she'd be proud nonetheless. As far as regrets or wishing we could have grown faster/sooner...we don't know what we don't know until we know. So it is. No regrets my friend.

I have a few but "its better to regret something have done than something you haven't" I love that saying of an Orbital record.

That being said I would not be here today if I had not have done everything I have so who's knows. I have taken the right path to be here today. Things are definitely looking up for once :)

I've been thinking about this very subject a lot lately and trying to let go of my own baggage as much as possible. As always, thanks for the food for thought!

U looks so beauti

This comment has received a 0.11 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

I always enjoy your writing style. Also your modeling compliments this post nicely. Well done! Would be nice to see you model with something like this:

Womens Crypto Apparel: Steem To The Moon T-Shirt Black https://www.amazon.com/dp/B072WVBR5C/ref=cm_sw_r_other_apa_gt4yzbM4S6Z6M
Cheers!

This was brilliant. thank you for sharing this with us!

without an ego nothing would make sense, so i think it's best not to let go off your walls..

I agree. We really can't function in life except through the ego to prioritize, categorize, and make sense of it all. I only try and remember that ego is a tool to help us function, versus believing all of its bullshit as reality. Remember as you play the game of life, that it is just a game ultimately.

yea totally agree! way too little people see it this way..
check out this guys video

great content he is releasing!

He is good. Thanks for sharing. 🙏🏽

i live a blessed life..i'm sooooo lucky wouldn't change a thing

It is indeed important to leave the past behind and start every day a new begining, but most important is to know which part of the past can be helpul for us to learn from our experience and which part to forget and start the day without it, to be able to enjoy the life as it is. Great article !

Yes, Let go and proceed with an open mind and an open heart but learn from our past lessons. Thank you for your comment. I like your blog and follow you now.

Thank you ! I will follow you as well. Looking forward to read some more articles like this on your blog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11